Your Daily Dose of Buzzer-Beating Controversy

↵ ↵⇥ ↵⇥ ↵⇥ ↵⇥ ↵⇥ ↵⇥ ↵ ↵
↵
↵You make the call on this shot by Nic Wise. After review, it was ruled that this shot counted and Arizona won 83-82 in OT. What I can't quite get my head around is the fact that the angle from behind seems to clearly indicate the light coming on with the clock hitting 00.0. In the second side angle, we're relying on a camera syncing up with a clock, and we get a different result. Why wouldn't you just trust the angle with everything in one frame, as opposed to depending on synchronization that could be off by even 0.01 of a second? I say Lipscomb got robbed of a nice name-brand win at Arizona, even if beating the Wildcats doesn't carry the weight it once did.↵

This post originally appeared on the Sporting Blog. For more, see The Sporting Blog Archives.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.