SBNation.com's February NASCAR Twitter Rankings

Sick of the Danica hype yet? Apparently, some people aren't.

The GoDaddy Girl herself gained the most Twitter followers this month (33,000), while Daytona 500 winner Jamie McMurray gained the most positions on the monthly list of NASCAR-related tweeters.

Kyle Busch made the strongest debut, appearing at 14th despite only recently creating his account. Martin Truex Jr. and Greg Biffle were also newcomers to the list.

And there's a new face at No. 2: Nelson Piquet Jr. He's been tweeting for awhile, but recently became eligible for this list by running a NASCAR truck series race.

Can Piquet ever challenge Juan Pablo Montoya for the top spot? Can Danica?

We'll see.

In the meantime, here's the full top 35 of the ever-growing list of NASCAR-related tweeters, ranked by number of followers (Remember: Only drivers, crew members and owners are eligible; drivers who have accounts in their names such as Dale Earnhardt Jr., Ryan Newman and Sam Hornish Jr. but do not tweet for themselves are not eligible; wives, girlfriends, public relations, sponsor representatives and media not included).

1 (1 last month). Juan Pablo Montoya (@jpmontoya): 129,899 – Slow month for Montoya. After gaining 85,000 followers in two months, he only collected 7,000 in February.

2 (NR). Nelson Piquet Jr. (@nelsonpiquet): 109,260 – Will he stick on this list? The former F1 driver is eligible after running Daytona truck race. If he runs more, he stays.

3 (2). Danica Patrick (@danicapatrick): 100,295 – NASCAR debut, Super Bowl bring her 33,000 new followers. 

4 (4). Michael Waltrip (@mw55): 31,490 – After chasing Kevin Harvick for a few months, Mikey finally makes the pass.

5 (3). Kevin Harvick (@kevinharvick): 29,554 – Tweeted pictures from his trip to the San Diego Zoo

6 (5). Kenny Wallace (@kenny_wallace): 24,691 – Attended a tweet-up at Social Media Motorsports Summit late last month

7 (6). Kasey Kahne (@kaseykahne): 23,900 – Tweeted "Can't believe I spun out like an idiot" after California wreck.

8 (7). Elliott Sadler (@elliott_sadler): 21,995 – New proud papa tweeted pics of infant son Wyatt.

9 (10). Denny Hamlin (@dennyhamlin): 19,628 – An 8,000-follower gain this month helps him leapfrog Bobby Labonte and DeLana Harvick. Is Sadler next?

10 (8). DeLana Harvick (@delanaharvick): 18,478 – A Twitter pioneer, the Kevin Harvick Inc. team owner holds down a spot in the top 10.

11 (9). Bobby Labonte (@bobby_labonte): 15,317 – Passed by Hamlin this month, now Daytona 500 winner Jamie McMurray is in his mirror.

12 (25). Jamie McMurray (@jamiemcmurray): 14,826 – How much was the Daytona 500 worth on Twitter? McMurray gained more than 12,000 followers this month.

13 (11). Ricky Carmichael (@rickycarmichael): 12,899 – Only a couple thousand new followers for Carmichael this month; still waiting for the explosion of Supercross fans to figure out he's tweeting.

14 (New). Kyle Busch  (@kylebusch): 12,452 – Not a bad debut month for Rowdy. Joined during Daytona Speedweeks and already streaking up through the field.

15 (12). Max Papis (@maxpapis): 10,140 – Tweets following his qualifying effort for Daytona 500 let followers share in his joy.

16 (14). Brian Vickers (@brianlvickers): 9,002 – Edged by Robby Gordon this month. Also maintains strong presence on Facebook.

17 (13). Robby Gordon (@robbygordon): 8,971 – Slipped a few spots despite being a frequent poster of Twitpics.

18 (New). Martin Truex Jr. (@martintruexjr56): 7,693 – Truex joined at the urging of team owner Waltrip and has been tweeting more frequently after a slow start.

19 (27). Scott Speed (@scottspeed): 7,433 – One of the most entertaining drivers to follow, Speed has his buddy Busch to thank for getting him 5,500 followers this month.

20 (15). Colin Braun (@colinbraun): 7,334 – Nearly falls out of the top 20 this month as Cup drivers storm by.

21 (NR). AJ Allmendinger (@ajdinger): 5,108 – The return of the Dinger. After abandoning Twitter last summer, AJ returned this month and has been as active as ever.

22 (16). Steve Wallace (@stevewallace66): 4,747 – Has tweeted a total of two times in 2010.

23 (New). Greg Biffle (@gbiffle): 4,686 – The Biff joined Twitter this month but has yet to get the big burst of followers.

24 (18). Kelly Bires (@kellybires): 4,151 – Showed class and urged followers to do the same when he was unable to find a ride at Daytona in part due to Danicamania.

25 (22). David Ragan (@david_ragan): 3,798 – Had a nice gain this month as he began tweeting more frequently.

26 (17). T.J. Majors (@tjmajors): 3,705 – Dale Earnhardt Jr.'s spotter made some followers happy by attending his first tweet-up in Fontana, but tumbled in standings.

27 (20). Michael McDowell (@mc_driver): 3,494 – Hopes social media skills will pay off in sponsorship this season.

28 (19). Brett Griffin (@19spotter): 3,401 – Want to experience "The Hangover" in real life? Follow Sadler's spotter's adventures in Vegas.

29 (24). Justin Allgaier (@j_allgaier12): 2,846 – Could a breakout season help propel great young family man toward the top 20 of the Twitter rankings?

30 (21). Mike Calinoff (@mikecalinoff): 2,779 – Has more followers than the driver he spots for, Matt Kenseth.

31 (23). Max Siegel (@max_siegel): 2,535 – Revolution Racing chief currently promoting his new book.

32 (30). Matt Kenseth (@mattk17): 2,472 – Hasn't tweeted in 2010. In danger of falling off Twitter rankings without more tweets.

33 (26). Brad Coleman (@bradccoleman): 2,295 – Commented on Danica's Nationwide run as he was forced to sit at home with no ride.

34 (28). Landon Cassill (@landoncassill): 2,273 – Made it back to NASCAR for the Daytona truck race, but was caught up in an early wreck.

35 (29). Aric Almirola (@aric_almirola): 2,200 – Tweeted spectacular photos from his Colorado ski trip.

Honorable mention (other NASCAR drivers/owners/crew members with more than 1,000 followers): Joe Nemechek (@frontrowjoe87) 2,161 Regan Smith (@regan_smith_) 1,549; Travis Kvapil (@traviskvapil) 1,412; Trevor Bayne (@tbayne99) 1,178; Marc Davis (@nascarmdavis) 1,111; Brendan Gaughan (@brendan62) 1,043; Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (@stenhousejr) 1,015.

If you know of a someone who would qualify for this list but does not appear here, please leave your comments below. Criteria: Must be an active driver, team owner or crew member with more than 1,000 followers.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.