SBNation.com's March NASCAR Twitter Rankings

  • Live
1 Total Update since March 25, 2010
  • Updates 1
  • All Updates 1

SBNation.com's March NASCAR Twitter Rankings

The monthly NASCAR Twitter Rankings were created to give fans a list of people inside the sport to follow in hopes of getting more information about the drivers and teams.

But for the first time ever, driver wives and girlfriends are eligible for the list, too. After all, they're closer to the drivers than anyone.

At the top of the list, Juan Pablo Montoya's lead is shrinking. Toward the bottom, the addition of the wives and girlfriends shakes things up this month.

Here's the full top 35 of the ever-growing list of NASCAR-related tweeters, ranked by number of followers (The rules: Only drivers, crew members, owners and wives/girlfriends/family members are eligible; drivers who have accounts in their names such as Dale Earnhardt Jr., Ryan Newman and Sam Hornish Jr. but do not tweet for themselves are not eligible. The list does not include public relations, sponsor representatives and media).

1 (1 last month). Juan Pablo Montoya (@jpmontoya): 135,145 – His lead once appeared insurmountable, but Danica Patrick is closing in quickly. She's picked up 43,000 followers on Montoya in just two months.

2 (3). Danica Patrick (@danicapatrick): 122,535 – Continues to pile up huge follower numbers as she passes Nelson Piquet Jr. for the No. 2 spot.

3 (2). Nelson Piquet Jr. (@nelsonpiquet): 111,824 – Tweeted his excitement (in Portuguese) about appearing on this list and hopes to run more NASCAR truck races. But the ex-Formula One driver gained just 2,000 followers last month.

4 (4). Michael Waltrip (@mw55): 36,472 – Star of the small screen, team owner Waltrip's numerous TV appearances keep him in the spotlight.

5 (5). Kevin Harvick (@kevinharvick): 35,468 – Despite being a "bad person" (at least according to Carl Edwards), Harvick still manages to top 30,000 followers.

6 (7). Kasey Kahne (@kaseykahne): 28,648 – Makes a clean pass on Kenny Wallace for sixth.

7 (6). Kenny Wallace (@kenny_wallace): 27,827 – We now know many of the thoughts that enter the Hermanator's head, which may not always be a good thing.

8 (8). Elliott Sadler (@elliott_sadler): 24,512 – Sadler remains on this list, but his spotter Brett Griffin (formerly known as @19spotter) deleted his Twitter account. Griffin was 28th last month.

9 (9). Denny Hamlin (@dennyhamlin): 23,728 – Hamlin caught Sadler this month, but couldn't quite make the pass. Call it the Twitter aero push.

10 (10). DeLana Harvick (@delanaharvick): 21,337 – Harvick has always been on this list because of her ownership stake in Kevin Harvick Inc., but she's also the No. 1 driver wife on Twitter.

11 (14). Kyle Busch  (@kylebusch): 18,657 – Former Twitter holdout has now embraced it by being interactive with fans and offering race-day giveaways every weekend so far this season.

12 (12). Jamie McMurray (@jamiemcmurray): 18,393 – Stumbled on the track after his incredible February, but remains in the top 12 here.

13 (11). Bobby Labonte (@bobby_labonte): 16,882 – Growth has stalled a bit; Labonte's slide out of the top 10 is a bit puzzling given he's a fairly regular tweeter.

14 (13). Ricky Carmichael (@rickycarmichael): 14,736 – Was full of both NASCAR truck and AMA Supercross tweets this month.

15 (18). Martin Truex Jr. (@martintruexjr56): 11,339 – Perhaps people follow in hopes of getting "NAPA Know How" song out of their heads.

16 (19). Scott Speed (@scottspeed): 11,293 – Speed's interaction with fans and outrageous tweets have helped his popularity; he was 27th on this list two months ago.

17 (15). Max Papis (@maxpapis): 11,254 – If this list were based on the quality of the individuals who tweet, Papis would never lose any spots. An amazing person.

18 (16). Brian Vickers (@brianlvickers): 10,375 – Vickers got passed by Red Bull teammate Speed this month. However, Vickers didn't tweet a picture of his significant other peeing on a golf course, as Speed did. Perhaps that's the key to more followers?

19 (17). Robby Gordon (@robbygordon): 10,200 – Had some great tweets about the Carl Edwards non-penalty situation after Atlanta. But having dropped outside the top 35 in owner points, has other things on his mind now.

20 (20). Colin Braun (@colinbraun): 8,088 – Despite not getting much media attention, frequent tweets keep him in the spotlight in the eyes of his followers.

21 (Not ranked). Krissie Newman (@krissienewman): 6,806 – Ryan Newman's wife is the first wife/girlfriend to take advantage of the new Twitter ranking format. The Newmans recently released their second "Pit Road Pets" book.

22 (23). Greg Biffle (@gbiffle): 6,548 – Fans were thrilled with The Biff's surprise appearance at the Bristol tweetup, where he pledged to become a more frequent tweeter.

23 (21). AJ Allmendinger (@ajdinger): 6,281 – Things you never knew before Twitter, part 397: "Dinger" watches "Dancing With The Stars."

24 (22). Steve Wallace (@stevewallace66): 5,784 – Twitter explosion this month from Wallace, who had been quiet all year. Has a similar filter (or lack thereof) to Uncle Kenny.

25 (not ranked). Samantha Sarcinella (@samsarcinella): 5,059 – The future Mrs. Kyle Busch tweets about wedding plans and all things related to the No. 18 team.

26 (not ranked). Brad Keselowski (@keselowski): 4,986 – "Bad Brad" gained notoriety with Atlanta wreck; Twitter followers more than doubled.

27 (25). David Ragan (@david_ragan): 4,751 – Has started giving more frequent updates, which may explain 1,000-follower gain this month.

28 (24). Kelly Bires (@kellybires): 4,695 – Dropped 10 spots in two months as bigger-name drivers (and now their wives/girlfriends) arrived on the Twitter scene.

29 (26). T.J. Majors (@tjmajors): 4,182 – Dale Earnhardt Jr.'s spotter is the most popular, thanks to his longevity on Twitter and frequent interaction with fans.

30 (not ranked). Amanda Speed (@amanda_speed): 4,124 – Scott Speed's wife has become a Twitter celebrity in her own right, delighting fans by attending a tweetup in Las Vegas.

31 (29). Justin Allgaier (@j_allgaier12): 3,913 – Popular Bristol Nationwide win helped boost followers more than 1,000 this month.

32 (27). Michael McDowell (@mc_driver): 3,910 – Racing Brad Coleman to see if McDowell can get to 4,000 followers before Coleman gets to 3,000 (Advantage: McDowell).

33 (30). Mike Calinoff (@mikecalinoff): 2,859 – Matt Kenseth's spotter was so bored during recent Charlotte test, he tweeted a picture of orange duct tape.

34 (31). Max Siegel (@max_siegel): 2,623 – The head of Revolution Racing is full of inspirational quotes.

35 (not ranked). Joe Nemechek (@frontrowjoe87): 2,598 – Nemechek, whose profile says he is "Faster than a tweeting bullet," cracks the top 35 again after falling out last month.

 

Honorable mention (other eligible Twitterers with at least 1,000 followers)

 

 

  • Aric Almirola (@aric_almirola): 2,582
  • Ryan Truex (@rtruex00): 2,579 
  • Brad Coleman (@bradccoleman): 2,573
  • Landon Cassill (@landoncassill): 2,491
  • Regan Smith (@regan_smith_): 2,220
  • Travis Kvapil (@traviskvapil): 1,755
  • Ashley Allgaier (@ashleyallgaier): 1,728
  • Trevor Bayne (@tbayne99): 1,724
  • David Gilliland (@dgilliland2010): 1,723
  • Sherry Pollex (@sherrypollex): 1,652
  • Brendan Gaughan (@brendan62): 1,470
  • Lynne Allmendinger (@drlynnechiro): 1,462
  • Brian Scott (@bscottracing): 1,372
  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (@stenhousejr): 1,332
  • Mary Lou Hamlin (@11mommalou): 1,296
  • Connie Montoya (@cfreydell): 1,177
  • Matt Crafton (@mcraftonracing): 1,172
  • Marc Davis (@nascarmdavis): 1,165
  • Jordan Fish (@jordan_fish): 1,092
  • Tati Papis (@tatipapis): 1,078
  • Justin Lofton (@jlracing): 1,031
  • Ty Norris (@tymwr): 1,025
  • Joel Edmonds (@16_spotter): 1,003
  • Rocky Ryan (@rocky_ryan): 1,001

If you know of a someone who would qualify for this list but does not appear here, please leave your comments below. Criteria: Must be an active driver, team owner, crew member, driver wife/girlfriend/family member with more than 1,000 followers.

Continue
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.