SBNation.com's June NASCAR Twitter Rankings

Kyle Busch is now within 5,000 followers of Denny Hamlin on the NASCAR Twitter Rankings list.

It seems in all forms of racing, this has been the Year of the Teammate Clashes.

Could we see a battle in the Twitter rankings, too?

Kyle Busch has been gaining followers slightly faster than Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Denny Hamlin and has cracked the top 10 for the first time this month. It's doubtful Busch will pass Hamlin in June, but he could catch him this summer.

There isn't much drama at the top of the list, though.

Though Danica Patrick wasn't very fast during most of May at Indianapolis, but she still managed to leave Juan Pablo Montoya in the dust for the No. 1 spot.

The Go Daddy girl is now more than 13,000 followers ahead of Montoya, the former Formula 1 driver who once added 55,000 in a single month but whose growth has slowed significantly.

Other than the arrival of Narain Karthikeyan – the "Fastest Indian in the World" who now drives in the Camping World Truck Series – there aren't too many shakeups in the top 35 this month.

Here is the full top 35 of the ever-growing list of NASCAR-related tweeters, ranked by number of followers (The rules: Only drivers, crew members, owners and wives/girlfriends/family members are eligible; drivers who have accounts in their names such as Dale Earnhardt Jr., Ryan Newman and Sam Hornish Jr. but do not tweet for themselves are not eligible. The list does not include public relations, sponsor representatives and media).

1 (1 last month). Danica Patrick (@danicapatrick): 161,075 followers – "It's not my fault" that she's at the top of the Twitter rankings this month.

2 (2). Juan Pablo Montoya (@jpmontoya): 147,798 – Has Montoya's worldwide appeal slowed? We're not sure why he isn't gaining as many followers as he used to.

3 (3). Nelson Piquet Jr. (@nelsonpiquet): 118,056 – Notice a theme here? The top three drivers are not traditionally from NASCAR. They gained huge followings elsewhere before trying stock-car racing.

4 (4). Kevin Harvick (@kevinharvick): 40,437 – The first NASCAR-only driver to top 40,000 followers. Not bad, considering he got a relatively late start compared to wife DeLana.

5 (5). Michael Waltrip (@mw55): 39,647 – No wonder this guy continues to pile up the sponsors. He appeals to many different types of race fans.

6 (6). Kasey Kahne (@kaseykahne): 34,431 – Where will the dude we're calling "L.L. Cool K" end up next year? He certainly isn't giving any hints via Twitter.

7 (7). Kenny Wallace (@kenny_wallace): 29,978 – Only gained 700 followers this month, allowing Denny Hamlin to close on his back bumper.

8 (8). Denny Hamlin (@dennyhamlin): 29,112 – The #TeamDenny hashtag on Twitter was revived after Hamlin's All-Star incident with teammate Kyle Busch. Will they play nice if Busch passes him in followers?

9 (9). Elliott Sadler (@elliott_sadler): 27,234 – Campaign for All-Star fan vote via Twitter fell just short, losing out to Carl Edwards.

10 (11). Kyle Busch  (@kylebusch): 24,398 – Some jokester on Twitter has made "Old Kyle" and "New Kyle" Twitter accounts, but the "Real Kyle" has cracked the top 10 on this list for the first time.

11 (10). DeLana Harvick (@delanaharvick): 23,356 – Felt bad about her dropping from the Twitter rankings top 10 for the first time ever until pictures she tweeted from the Stanley Cup Finals made us jealous.

12 (12). Jamie McMurray (@jamiemcmurray): 22,137 – Having a career year requires a clear head and Twitter feed, so McMurray reduced the clutter by unfollowing all media members.

13 (NR). Narain Karthikeyan (@narainracing): 20,171 – The F1-turned-Truck Series driver is now eligible for the list, and wisely didn't include his hard-to-spell last name in his Twitter ID.

14 (13). Bobby Labonte (@bobby_labonte): 18,068 – Dropped a spot thanks to Karthikeyan's arrival, and could soon be passed by Ricky Carmichael.

15 (14). Ricky Carmichael (@rickycarmichael): 17,934 – Revived his challenge to Chad Ochocinco, but advised the NFL star to try racing him in a Truck instead of a bike.

16 (15). Scott Speed (@scottspeed): 15,462 – Attended a tweetup before the Coke 600, signing autographs for fans and posing for pictures along with wife Amanda.

17 (16). Martin Truex Jr. (@martintruexjr56): 14,119 – Could number of Philadelphia Flyers-related tweets approach number of "NAPA Know How" commercial airings?

18 (18). Brian Vickers (@brianlvickers): 13,157 – Was in the news for unfortunate reasons during the month of May, but received outpouring of support via social media.

19 (17). Max Papis (@maxpapis): 12,550 – Fans enjoyed seeing Papis attend his first-ever tweetup at Darlington along with wife Tati.

20 (19). Robby Gordon (@robbygordon): 11,060 – Heading to Baja this week for some desert racing. Will he have cell phone reception to tweet?

21 (21). Greg Biffle (@gbiffle): 8,860 – Recently added Twitter to his phone, which allows him to provide more updates.

22 (20). Colin Braun (@colinbraun): 8,834 – Made an appearance at the Roush Fenway tweetup during Roush's fan day.

23 (22). Krissie Newman (@krissienewman): 8,547 – A New Jersey Devils fan, Ryan Newman's wife has been anti-Philly while most others in the NASCAR tweeting contingent seem pro-Flyers.

24 (23). AJ Allmendinger (@ajdinger): 8,474 – Inspiring Dover run seemed to back up his tweet pledging to give it his all.

25 (24). Samantha Sarcinella (@samsarcinella): 7,568 – The future Mrs. Kyle Busch seems to be gaining followers faster than some drivers.

26 (25). Steve Wallace (@stevewallace66): 6,812 – Tweeted "Jeff burton is my new hero" when Burton yelled at Kyle Busch following the Coke 600.

27 (26). Brad Keselowski (@keselowski): 6,503 – Gaining on Wallace in followers, can Keselowski make the pass this month?

28 (27). Amanda Speed (@amanda_speed): 6,342 – Slowed a bit from her torrid pace in April, but still picking up more than 100 new followers per week.

29 (28). David Ragan (@david_ragan): 5,657 – Was a delight for fans at Roush Fenway tweetup, including for one female follower who nearly swooned at the very sight of the UPS driver. 

30 (29). Kelly Bires (@kellybires): 5,047 – Still looking for a full-time ride after being released from JR Motorsports, but finished 11th at Richmond with Braun Racing.

31 (30). T.J. Majors (@tjmajors): 4,795 – Followers sent congratulations to Majors last month after he tweeted news of his baby girl's arrival.

32 (31). Justin Allgaier (@j_allgaier12): 4,669 – Could be in the spotlight more this month since there will be fewer Cup drivers running in the Nationwide Series.

33 (32). Michael McDowell (@mc_driver): 4,274 – Responded to tweets about "official" reasons for having to start-and-park by tweeting, "NASCAR gets made (mad) when I tell them that the funding fell off the car."

34 (34). Landon Cassill (@landoncassill): 3,168 – Made another brief NASCAR appearance for JR Motorsports but then dropped off the upcoming schedule again.

35 (35). Joe Nemechek (@frontrowjoe87): 3,154 – Asked fans to keep him in this list's top 35 this month, and it worked: Spotter Mike Calinoff's fall from the rankings left Front Row Joe in the final spot. 

Honorable mention (other eligible Twitterers with at least 1,000 followers) 

  • Aric Almirola (@aric_almirola): 3,112
  • * Mike Calinoff (@mikecalinoff): 3,017
  • Ryan Truex (@rtruex00): 2,915
  • Regan Smith (@regan_smith_): 2,861
  • Max Siegel (@max_siegel): 2,848
  • Brad Coleman (@bradccoleman): 2,751
  • Jordan Fish (@jordan_fish): 2,568
  • Mary Lou Hamlin (@11mommalou): 2,561
  • Trevor Bayne (@tbayne99): 2,377
  • Sherry Pollex (@sherrypollex): 2,356
  • Travis Kvapil (@traviskvapil): 2,238
  • Ashley Allgaier (@ashleyallgaier): 2,175
  • David Gilliland (@dgilliland2010): 2,136
  • Brendan Gaughan (@brendan62): 2,091
  • Lynne Allmendinger (@drlynnechiro): 2,004
  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (@stenhousejr): 1,822
  • Ron Hornaday (@ronhornaday): 1,806
  • Brian Scott (@bscottracing): 1,746
  • Joel Edmonds (@16_spotter): 1,650
  • Matt Crafton (@mcraftonracing): 1,640
  • Connie Freydell (@cfreydell): 1,621
  • Tati Papis (@tatipapis): 1,394
  • James Buescher (@jamesbuescher): 1,360
  • Ty Norris (@tymwr): 1,336
  • Jennifer Jo Cobb (@jenjocobb): 1,241
  • Marc Davis (@nascarmdavis): 1,225
  • Rocky Ryan (@rocky_ryan): 1,177
  • Joey Meier (@12spotter): 1,152
  • Justin Lofton (@jlracing): 1,149
  • Eddie Pardue (@eddiepardue): 1,135
  • Jason White (@jasonwhite23): 1,132
  • Steve Arpin (@stevearpin): 1,110
  • Shane Wilson (@cupcrewchief): 1,062
  • Tommy Baldwin (@tommy_baldwin): 1,061
  • Keith Rodden (@kmrodden): 1,052
  • JJ Yeley (@jjyeley1): 1,019
  • Brett Griffin (@19spotter): 1,015
* – Dropped out of top 35

If you know of a someone who would qualify for this list but does not appear here, please leave your comments below. Criteria: Must be an active driver, team owner, crew member, driver wife/girlfriend/family member with more than 1,000 followers.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.