It’s one thing for the guys over at Lone Star Ball to dislike the questionable call that ended Sunday night’s 6-5 loss to the Twins. It’s another thing when they actually check the MLB rulebook and confirm it was a pretty bad call.
From the baseball rule book, it is interference if:
In the judgment of the umpire, the base coach at third base, or first base, by touching or holding the runner, physically assists him in returning to or leaving third base or first base.
Anderson didn’t physically assist Michael Young in returning to third base, and Young returned to third base safely; however, he was called out, purportedly because of interference on the part of Anderson.
Thus, the call by third base umpire Alfonzo Marquez that ended the Rangers game this afternoon was clearly wrong.