Kirk Gibson, Joe Maddon Win Manager Of The Year Awards

ST PETERSBURG, FL : Manager Joe Maddon walks out to the mound in the seventh inning while taking on the Texas Rangers in Game Four of the American League Division Series at Tropicana Field. (Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

The skippers for the Rays and Diamondbacks were named Managers of the Year for the 2012 season by the BBWAA.

The Arizona Diamondbacks were the most surprising team in the National League, and the Tampa Bay Rays forged a stirring late-season comeback to overcome one of their high-payroll divisional rivals. Diamondbacks manager Kirk Gibson and Rays manager Joe Maddon had a huge advantage in the Manager Who Exceeded Preseason Expectations Award race and, as expected, both managers took home the honors in their respective leagues.

Neither manager was a unanimous winner for the Manager of the Year award, but both were runaways. First, the vote totals for the National League: 

Manager, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Kirk Gibson, Arizona Diamondbacks 28 4 152
Ron Roenicke, Milwaukee Brewers 3 25 2 92
Tony La Russa, St. Louis Cardinals 1 2 13 24
Charlie Manuel, Philadelphia Phillies 1 7 10
Fredi Gonzalez, Atlanta Braves 4 4
Bruce Bochy, San Francisco Giants 2 2
Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh Pirates 2 2
Terry Collins, New York Mets 1 1
Don Mattingly, Los Angeles Dodgers 1 1


Gibson and the Diamondbacks won 94 games and the NL West in 2011, just a year after losing 97 games and finishing in last place. Gibson took over that 2010 team, finishing with a 34-49 record.

And the American League:

Manager, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Joe Maddon, Tampa Bay Rays 26 1 133
Jim Leyland, Detroit Tigers 1 13 10 54
Ron Washington, Texas Rangers 1 7 5 31
Manny Acta, Cleveland Indians 3 7 16
Joe Girardi, New York Yankees 3 5 14
Mike Scioscia, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim 1 1 4


Other than the idea that Jeff Mathis and his mom get votes, there weren't many surprises here, either. Maddon led the Rays back from the abyss and into the playoffs, which would be tough for any team, much less one with a $40 million payroll or so.

Now that you have the Manager of the Year awards, commence the virulent debating and arguing! You know you want to.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.