2011 Silver Slugger Award Winners Named; David Ortiz, Brian McCann Win Fifth

ST LOUIS, MO - OCTOBER 20: David Ortiz of the Boston Red Sox smiles on the field after receiving the 2011 Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet before Game Two of the MLB World Series between the Texas Rangers and the St. Louis Cardinals at Busch Stadium on October 20, 2011 in St Louis, Missouri. (Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images)

Tuesday night, we found out the winners of the 2011 Gold Glove awards. The winners were supposed to be announced during a special show on ESPN2, but the show was delayed by a college football game between two teams nobody cares about. Well apparently, on Wednesday, the winners of the 2011 Silver Slugger awards were also announced on television. This is news to me, but it's minor news, because I don't care about the Silver Slugger awards, and neither do you.

But, what the hell, I might as well show you the winners. Presented below is a table. The table includes the names of the winners, the number of Silver Slugger awards each player has won in his career, and whether or not the player should have won the award in 2011. This is a very simple matter. The Silver Slugger is supposed to go to the best offensive player at each position. A guy either is the best offensive player at his position, or he is not.

Voting is done by coaches and managers. Three outfielders are selected in each league, rather than one outfielder at each of the three outfield positions.

Position Winner #Wins Deserving
C Alex Avila 1 Yes*
1B Adrian Gonzalez 1 No
2B Robinson Cano 3 No
SS Asdrubal Cabrera 1 No
3B Adrian Beltre 3 No
OF Curtis Granderson 1 Yes
OF Jose Bautista 2 Yes
OF Jacoby Ellsbury 1 Yes
DH David Ortiz 5 Yes
Position Winner #Wins Deserving
C Brian McCann 5 No
1B Prince Fielder 2 Yes
2B Brandon Phillips 1 No
SS Troy Tulowitzki 2 No
3B Aramis Ramirez 1 No
OF Ryan Braun 4 Yes
OF Matt Kemp 2 Yes
OF Justin Upton 1 No
P Daniel Hudson 1 No


* depending on what you make of Mike Napoli

Yikes, that doesn't seem very good. The table above shows eight deserving winners, and ten undeserving winners. But in truth, a lot of these are close, and the only egregious selection is Adrian Gonzalez over Miguel Cabrera. There is absolutely no question that Miguel Cabrera was a better offensive first baseman this year than Adrian Gonzalez.

But Cabrera's won before, so whatever. And these are the Silver Sluggers, so whatever. If you raise a stink about anything here you should seriously re-evaluate the life that you're living.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.