Open Race Thread: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series O'Reily 200 | Bristol Motor Speedway

LEBANON, TN - APRIL 02: Timothy Peters, driver of the #17 Crescent Tools Toyota looks on during qualifying for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Nashville 200 at Nashville Superspeedway on April 2, 2010 in Lebanon, Tennessee. (Photo by John Sommers II/Getty Images for NASCAR)

Update: 6:48 p.m. EST - Eliiot Sadler won the pole for Wednesday night's O'Reily 200, turning a lap of 122.607 mph in his Joe Denette Motorsports Chevrolet.

When the NASCAR Super Trucks were conceptualized in 1993, it was intended to be the missing link and ladder between local short tracks and the Winston Cup Series.

Bristol fit the mold perfectly being both a half-mile and one of the Cup Series' crown jewels. And thus it was included in the inaugural schedule with the 1995 Truck race being won by Joe Ruttman.

The Trucks have since marveled larger crowds at bigger racetracks like Daytona, Talladega and Michigan but the spirit was always the same; Grassroots racing at the world's highest level.

Tonight the Camping World Truck Series returns to its roots -- the Super Trucks are home at the World's Fastest Half-mile.

The Trucks are back at Bristol.


Despite a miserable morning race at Michigan last week that saw him finish eighth, Johnny Sauter retained the points lead, five markers over James Buescher and eight over Austin Dillon.

Even more remarkable is that Buescher is this close to the points lead despite missing the second race of the season at Phoenix International Raceway. Buescher has been a model of consistency in 2011 with seven Top-5s and 13 Top 10s in 14 of the season's 15 races. He's this close to a championship without even winning a single race.

Watch for that to change as early as tonight.

The championship leaders will all have to deal with three Cup-level drivers in Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick and Elliott Sadler.

Busch is the defending race winner and has won the last three races held at Bristol Motor Speedway. Kevin Harvick is the defending Series winner, having last won last week at Michigan while his teammate Sadler has been racing at Bristol since the mid-1980s.

Which storyline will prevail?

Tell us in the comments section!

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.