The lane violation may be one of the most ignored rules not only in college basketball, but in basketball in general. It's just rarely happens -- almost like the five-second call. And a lane violation on a player behind the shooter? Yeah, that just isn't ever called.
So you can imagine everyone's surprise when, out of nowhere, the UNC-Asheville Bulldogs were whistled for a lane violation ... on the man behind the shooter. Without the whistle, the miss by Syracuse Orange guard Scoop Jardine on the front-end of a one-and-one would've given UNC-Asheville some semblance of hope. But no dice.
Watch the GIF and try to find the lane violation.
Let's try this again from the other angle. Remember, the call is on the guy behind the three-point line.
It's also worth noting that Syracuse got away with a blatant goaltend earlier, had six seconds to try and inbound the ball moments before the lane violation and benefited from a very favorable call on a 50/50 play shortly after this. So, yeah ... draw your own conclusions.
Edit: The player behind the shooter apparently cannot cross the free throw line before the ball hits the rim. Related: this is still never, ever called, and letting the play go would not have affected the play. Yes, he came down with the rebound. No, Syracuse had no shot at a rebound either way.