There was some question as to whether Norfolk State benefited from a gift of a call late in its matchup with Missouri. On an inbounds pass late in the game, the player inbounding the ball made a snap decision and hopped from out of bounds and onto the court to snag a deflected pass. But did he establish legal position?
Here's the rule (Rule 9, Section 4, Article 2) from the NCAA rulebook (pdf warning):
Art. 2. After the throw-in is completed, the thrower-in must touch the playing floor inbounds before touching the ball.
Now watch the video after the jump closely.
There's nothing about two feet inbounds in the rule. Instead, it's "must touch the playing floor." The Norfolk State player did this -- just barely -- and thus the call was correct.
Again, watch his left foot closely. It was very close, but correct. And besides, Norfolk State had been getting screwed all day, so one borderline call may as well have went its way.