Austin Jackson's leadoff triple that barely left the infield

Did Yankee fans cost their team a base in the top of the sixth inning?

Austin Jackson led off the sixth and drove a hot grounder just inside first base and down the line ...

Triplelol

Jackson reached third base for a triple, without a throw. In the TBS booth, Ron Darling expressed some surprise that one of the fans in the front row didn't reach over and interfere with the baseball, resulting in a double for Jackson.

But that's not the rule. The rule is that the umpire shall place the runner where he would have wound up, absent the interference. And a good umpire would have recognized that the Yankees had no shot at preventing Jackson from making it all the way to third base.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.