Eagles vs. Saints: Was this a catch?

ESPN

Interesting call in Monday's game between the Eagles and Saints.

Michael Vick found receiver Jason Avant across the middle and Avant got both hands on the ball but as he completed the catch the ball hit the ground (pictured above).

The initial ruling was a completed catch but the Saints challenged the play. Unfortunately for New Orleans, the referee upheld the call, saying the receiver "locked in the catch."

Did he make the catch and secure it even though it hit the ground? Or should this have been ruled no catch?

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.