Open Race Thread: NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Good Sam Roadside Assistance 200 at Rockingham Speedway

ROCKINGHAM, NC - APRIL 14: The Rock sign before qualifying for the Good Sam Roadside Assistance 200 at Rockingham Speedway on April 14, 2012 in Rockingham, North Carolina. Photo by Rainier Ehrhardt/Getty Images for NASCAR via

NASCAR is back at The Rock! I can say with true honesty I've missed seeing this track (and North Wilkesboro) on the NASCAR schedule these past years. Even though it isn't a Cup race, I'm happy to see NASCAR back at the newly revitalized Andy Hillenburg owned track.

Anyone who is happy to see NASCAR back at this storied track owes a debt of gratitude to Andy Hillenburg for taking the Speedway Motorsports discarded auctioned-off track and bringing honor and pride back to the almost forgotten facility.

It is ironic that NASCAR's return to The Rock coincides with the Cup date at Texas Motorspeedway, since the reason why NASCAR left its nearly 40 year history with the track was to give Texas Motorspeedway its second race date.

I've always thought of The Rock as being a combination of Darlington and Bristol with its differing corners like Darlington and its sharp high banks like Bristol giving the track a superspeedway-short-track feel to it - not quite a spuerspeedway yet not quite a short track either!

Here is some history about the track that you may not have known:

  • Curtis Turner won the track's inaugural 500-mile race in October 1965 that took nearly five hours to complete. Turner and runner up Cale Yarborough were the only lead-lap finishers.
  • Fifteen NASCAR Sprint Cup champions - all but two during the track's existence - won races at Rockingham led by Richard Petty, who visited Victory Lane 11 times.
  • Ten Rockingham winners are members of the NASCAR Hall of Fame: drivers Petty, Yarborough, Dale Earnhardt, Darrell Waltrip, Bobby Allison and David Pearson; car owners Junior Johnson, Bud Moore and Glen Wood and crewchief Dale Inman.
  • Benny Parsons, whose car was owned by Rockingham promoter L.G. DeWitt, never was able to win at the track. Parsons, however, clinched the 1972 championship there on an afternoon where his Chevrolet literally was rebuilt after an early-race accident.
  • Steve Park drove a Dale Earnhardt Inc. Chevrolet to victory at Rockingham in February 2001, the race following Dale Earnhardt's death in the Daytona 500. It also marked the debut of Kevin Harvick with Richard Childress Racing's No. 3 team - which carried the No. 29 it bears today.
  • Johnny Benson, the 2008 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion, won his only NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Rockingham in 2002.
  • For many years, the track's fall race played host to the Unocal Pit Crew Challenge, an event that put names to faces of the sport's over-the-wall crew members creating iconic names such as RCR's "Flying Aces." Its spirit continues with the NASCAR Sprint Pit Crew Challenge to be held May 17 at Time Warner Cable Arena in Charlotte, N.C.
  • Jamie McMurray solidly etched his name in Rockingham lore winning the track's final four NASCAR Nationwide Series races in 2002-04. He did it with three owners - Clarence Brewer, James Finch and Todd Braun - and four different crew chiefs. In 2002 McMurray led just the final two laps when the two leaders crashed in front of him. The next year he led 192 of 197 laps.
  • The final Cup race in 2004 ranked as one of the track's most exciting as Matt Kenseth held off Kasey Kahne's furious last-lap, final-turn challenge to win by .010 seconds.

Historical facts compliments of Owen A. Kearns (NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications)

Starting line-up after the jump, see you in the comments section!

The race will be televised on SPEED at 1 PM EST.

Pos # Driver Team Time
1 30 Nelson Piquet Jr. Qualcomm / AutoTrac Chevrolet 24.933
2 5 Paulie Harraka Send Soldier to Rock / Wauters Mtrspts Ford 24.934
3 17 Timothy Peters Toyota 25.011
4 18 Jason Leffler Dollar General Toyota 25.047
5 4 Kasey Kahne Rockwell Tools Chevrolet 25.106
6 29 Parker Kligerman Draw-Tite / MOPAR Dodge 25.149
7 11 Todd Bodine Toyota Care Toyota 25.169
8 88 Matt Crafton Menards / Ideal Door Toyota 25.179
9 60 Grant Enfinger Turn One Racing Chevrolet 25.195
10 13 Johnny Sauter Hot Honeys / Curb Records Toyota 25.229
11 98 Dakoda Armstrong Toyota 25.238
12 3 Ty Dillon Bass Pro Shops / Tracker Boats Chevrolet 25.257
13 33 Cale Gale Rheem Chevrolet 25.290
14 8 Ross Chastain Florida Watermelon Association Toyota 25.299
15 24 Max Gresham Made in USA Brand Chevrolet 25.306
16 31 James Buescher Chevrolet 25.324
17 22 Joey Coulter / RCR Chevrolet 25.346
18 92 David Reutimann / BTS Tire / QMI Chevrolet 25.354
19 6 Justin Lofton Chevrolet 25.394
20 9 John Wes Townley RAB Racing Toyota 25.409
21 81 David Starr Zachry Toyota 25.521
22 9 Ron Hornaday Jr. Joe Denette Motorsports Chevrolet 25.594
23 32 Miguel Paludo Duroline Brakes Chevrolet 25.625
24 75 Caleb Holman Food Country USA / Wise Snacks Chevrolet 25.631
25 7 John King Consol Energy Toyota 25.644
26 2 Tyler Young Young’s Building Systems Chevrolet 25.648
27 27 Jeb Burton State Water Heaters Chevrolet 25.677
28 23 Jason White Ford 25.720
29 2 Timothy George Jr. Applebee’s Chevrolet 25.778
30 14 Brennan Newberry Ironclad Performance Wear Chevrolet 25.830
31 99 Bryan Silas Rockingham Speedway Ford 25.965
32 39 Ryan Sieg RSS Racing Chevrolet 26.048
33 93 Chris Cockrum RSS Racing / Advanced Commo Chevrolet Owner Points
34 7 Johnny Chapman ASI Limited Toyota Owner Points
35 57 Norm Benning Norm Benning Racing Chevrolet Owner Points
36 70 Jeff Agnew Team 7 Motorsports Chevrolet 25.835
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.