Daytona Wildcard: The Subway Jalapeno 250 Preview

Tandem racing is back as the Nationwide Series heads to DAYTONA BEACH, FL - JULY 05: Austin Dillon, driver of the #3 Bass Pro Shops/NRA Museum Chevrolet and Kevin Harvick, driver of the #33 Rheem/Menards Chevrolet drive during practice for the NASCAR Nationwide Series Subway Jalapeno 250 Powered by Coca-Cola at Daytona International Speedway on July 5, 2012 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Todd Warshaw/Getty Images for NASCAR)

The Nationwide Series heads to Daytona for the second time this year. At the start the year Daytona proved yet again to be one of the highlights of the season as James Buescher survived to win his first Nationwide win and I feel that heading back to Daytona will prove to be an exciting even as wellt.

Austin Dillon held the points lead for about two days before it was snatched away from him for failing post race inspection after winning last week. Dillon is still second in points, and a good run this weekend can launch him right back to the top, RCR powered cars have traditionally run well at Daytona.

Entry List after the JUMP!

Entry Car# Driver Sponsor Manu Owner
1 1 Kurt Busch(i) 12 Chevy Phoenix Racing
2 01 Mike Wallace TBA 12 Chevy JD Motorsports
3 2 Elliott Sadler One Main Financial 12 Chevy Richard Childress
4 3 Austin Dillon Bass Pro Shops 12 Chevy Richard Childress
5 4 Danny Efland TBA 12 Chevy JD Motorsports
6 6 Ricky Stenhouse Jr NOS 12 Ford Roush Fenway
7 7 Danica Patrick 12 Chevy JR Motorsports
8 08 Bryan Silas Randy Hill Racing 12 Ford Randy Hill
9 10 Jeff Green TBD 12 Toyota TriStar Motorsports
10 11 Brian Scott Dollar General 12 Toyota Joe Gibbs
11 12 Sam Hornish Jr Wurth 12 Dodge Roger Penske
12 14 Eric McClure Hefty/Reynolds Wrap 12 Toyota TriStar Motorsports
13 15 Jeffrey Earnhardt Tobacco Free 12 Chevy Rick Ware
14 18 Joey Logano(i) Dollar General 12 Toyota Joe Gibbs
15 19 Tayler Malsam G-Oil / Ryobi 12 Toyota TriStar Motorsports
16 20 Clint Bowyer(i) SportClips 12 Toyota Joe Gibbs
17 22 Brad Keselowski(i) Discount Tire 12 Dodge Roger Penske
18 23 Robert Richardson Jr N TX Pipe 12 Chevy R3 Motorsports
19 24 Casey Roderick West Virginia Miners Baseball 12 Chevy SC2 Motorsports
20 30 James Buescher(i) Ron Jon Surf Shop/Quicksilver 12 Chevy Turner Motorsports
21 31 Justin Allgaier Brandt 12 Chevy Turner Motorsports
22 33 Kevin Harvick(i) Menards 12 Chevy Richard Childress
23 36 Bobby Santos III Tommy Baldwin Racing Chevy 12 Chevy Tommy Baldwin
24 38 Brad Sweet Great Clips 12 Chevy Turner Motorsports
25 39 Josh Richards JOY 12 Ford Go Green
26 40 Erik Darnell TBA 12 Chevy The Motorsports Group
27 41 Timmy Hill 12 Ford Rick Ware
28 42 Josh Wise(i) TBA 12 Chevy The Motorsports Group
29 43 Michael Annett Pilot Flying J 12 Ford Richard Petty Motorsports
30 44 Mike Bliss TBA 12 Toyota TriStar Motorsports
31 46 Chase Miller The Motorsports Group 12 Chevy The Motorsports Group
32 47 Scott Speed(i) Curtis Key Plumbing 12 Chevy The Motorsports Group
33 50 T J Bell TBA 12 Chevy MAKE Motorsports
34 51 Jeremy Clements Clements Automotive 10 Chevy Jeremy Clements
35 52 Joey Gase My Three Sons Vending 12 Chevy Jimmy Means
36 54 Kyle Busch(i) Monster Energy 12 Toyota Kyle Busch
37 70 Johanna Long Foretravel 12 Chevy ML Motorsports
38 74 Mike Harmon Koma Unwind 12 Chevy Mike Harmon
39 81 Jason Bowles American Majority 12 Toyota MacDonald Motorsports
40 82 Blake Koch 12 Dodge MacDonald Motorsports
41 87 Joe Nemechek AM/FM Energy 12 Toyota NEMCO
42 88 Cole Whitt Degree MEN 12 Chevy JR Motorsports
43 99 John Wes Townley(i) Barberitos 12 Toyota RAB Racing

43 teams are entered this week, so everyone will make the race. Just a few notes this week:

  • #1- Kurt Busch will jump to Phoenix Racing this week as James Finch makes his yearly Superspeedway visits.
  • #15- Jeffrey Earnhardt will make a start for Rick Ware this week.
  • #20- Denny Hamlin decided that he did not want to race double duty this week, so Joey Logano moves over to the #18 and Clint Bowyer will jump into the #20.
  • #54- Keep an eye on Kyle Busch this week. He took second place at the Miller Nationals at Slinger Speedway in Wisconsin and is looking to return to victory lane.
  • #89-Morgan Shepherd has withdrawn from the event.

It's Friday Night Racing live on ESPN. Tune in at 7pm eastern for the live running of the Subway Jalapeno 250! Our Open Race Thread will be up after 5:00 pm. Enjoy!

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.