The List: NFL linebackers who have come and gone since 1996

Patrick Smith

It's been a long and winding road. Here are those who have fallen in Ray-Ray's wake.

Ray Lewis announced on Wednesday that he will retire after the current postseason. Lewis was selected by the Baltimore Ravens as a linebacker in the first round of the 1996 NFL Draft. Here is a partial list of linebackers who have entered the league since 1996 and have since left the NFL or retired.

1996: Kevin Hardy

1996: John Mobley

1996: Randall Godfrey

1996: Tedi Bruschi

1996: Donnie Edwards

1996: Earl Holmes

1996: Kevin Hardy

1996: Zach Thomas

1996: Doug Colman

1996: Scott Galyon

1996: Craig Sauer

1996: Carlos Emmons

1996: Keith McKenzie

1996: O.J. Brigance

1996: Larry Izzo

1996: Don Davis

1996: Jeff Gooch

1996: Kevin Hardy

1997: Dwayne Rudd

1997: Jamie Sharper

1997: James Darling

1997: Dexter Coakley

1997: Derek Smith

1997: Bertrand Berry

1997: Derrick Rodgers

1997: Peter Boulware

1997: James Farrior

1997: Reinard Wilson

1997: Twan Russell

1997: Keith Mitchell

1997: Mike Maslowski

1998: Greg Ellis

1998: Anthony Simmons

1998: Brian Simmons

1998: Sam Cowart

1998: Kailee Wong

1998: Jeremiah Trotter

1998: Steve Foley

1998: Shawn Barber

1998: Greg Favors

1998: Ike Reese

1998: Chris Draft

1998: Nate Wayne

1998: Jeff Posey

1999: Dat Nguyen

1999: Chris Claiborne

1999: Al Wilson

1999: Barry Gardner

1999: Joey Porter

1999: Hannibal Navies

1999: Rosevelt Colvin

1999: Keith Newman

1999: Eric Barton

1999: Lemar Marshall

2000: Keith Bulluck

2000: Ian Gold

2000: Marcus Washington

2000: Nate Webster

2000: T.J. Slaughter

2000: Na'il Diggs

2000: LaVar Arrington

2000: Julian Peterson

2000: Dhani Jones

2000: Adalius Thomas

2001: Kendrell Bell

2001: Jamie Winborn

2001: Monty Beisel

2001: Carlos Polk

2001: Antonio Pierce

2002: Napoleon Harris

2002: Rocky Boiman

2002: Andra Davis

2002: D.D. Lewis

2002: Ryan Nece

2003: E.J. Henderson

2003: Cato June

2004: Sean Tufts

2006: Brian Iwuh

2006: Pierre Woods

2007: Quinton Culberson

2007: Jyles Tucker

2008: Jordon Dizon

2009: Aaron Curry

2009: Clint Sintim

2010: Rennie Curran

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.