NASCAR Texas 2013 qualifying results: Busch brothers sweep front row

Jerome Miron-USA TODAY Sports

Kyle and Kurt Busch will start on the front row for Saturday's Sprint Cup Series race at Texas Motor Speedway.

The Busch brothers were the story in NASCAR qualifying as Kyle Busch narrowly edged older brother Kurt to win the pole for Saturday's NRA 500 at Texas Motor Speedway.

Kurt Busch was on the provisional pole and looked like he was going to earn his first No. 1 starting position since winning three consecutive poles in June of 2011. But a lap in excess of 196 mph that broke the previous track-record held by Brian Vickers gave the pole to Kyle.

This is the second time Kyle and Kurt have started on the front row together. They had previously done so in 2009 at Las Vegas.

Richard Petty Motorsports teammates Aric Almirola and Marcos Ambrose will start third and fourth, respectively. Championship points leader and the winner last week at Martinsville Jimmie Johnson will start behind the RPM duo in fifth.

Danica Patrick's qualifying woes continued, as she will line up 42nd on the grid following a lap that she described as "horrible" in an interview on Speed.

Since winning the pole for the season-opening Daytona 500, Texas marks the sixth straight race where Patrick has not started better than 32nd.

It was a bad day for a pair of Scotts, as Scott Riggs and Scott Speed were the only drivers who failed to qualify.

Complete starting lineup for NRA 500 at Texas Motor Speedway:

1) Kyle Busch

2) Kurt Busch

3) Aric Almirola

4) Marcos Ambrose

5) Martin Truex Jr.

6) Dale Earnhardt Jr.

7) Jimmie Johnson

8) Jeff Gordon

9) Carl Edwards

10) Juan Pablo Montoya

11) Jamie McMurray

12) Austin Dillon(i)

13) Tony Stewart

14) Kasey Kahne

15) Brian Vickers(i)

16) Brad Keselowski

17) Ricky Stenhouse Jr. #

18) Joey Logano

19) Paul Menard

20) Matt Kenseth

21) Jeff Burton

22) Trevor Bayne(i)

23) Mark Martin

24) Casey Mears

25) David Ragan

26) Clint Bowyer

27) David Gilliland

28) Dave Blaney

29) Kevin Harvick

30) Bobby Labonte

31) Ryan Newman

32) Travis Kvapil

33) David Stremme

34) Mike Bliss(i)

35) Greg Biffle

36) JJ Yeley

37) Michael McDowell

38) David Reutimann

39) Landon Cassill

40) Josh Wise(i)

41) Joe Nemechek(i)

42) Danica Patrick #

43) Timmy Hill #

DNQ: Scott Riggs, Scott Speed

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.