NASCAR Michigan 2013 qualifying results: Joey Logano tops 203 mph, takes Michigan pole

John Harrelson

A record lap in excess of 203 mph put Joey Logano on the pole for Sunday’s NASCAR race at Michigan International Speedway.

In a qualifying session where speed was the name of the game, it was Joey Logano who was the fastest.

With a lap of 203.949 mph Logano won the pole for Sunday's NASCAR race at Michigan International Speedway. His time broke the previous track-record set by Marcos Ambrose a year ago and was the ninth-fastest pole speed in NASCAR history.

In all, 25 drivers topped the 200 mph barrier.

Sharing the front row with Logano will be Kurt Busch, who estimated he entered Turn 1 in excess of 212 mph. Rounding out the top five qualifiers were Jimmie Johnson, Mark Martin and Jeff Burton.

Just days removed from finding out he was losing his ride at the end of the year, Juan Pablo Montoya qualified sixth. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Denny Hamlin, Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch will lineup in positions seven through 10 on the grid.

Greg Biffle, the defending champion of the Pure Michigan 400 and who also won at this track in June, will start 16th. Driving in relief of the injured Tony Stewart, Austin Dillon overdrove Turn 1 on his qualifying lap and posted the 27th-fastest time.

The only driver who failed to qualify was Scott Riggs.

Pure Michigan 400 Starting Lineup

1)         Joey Logano

2)         Kurt Busch

3)         Jimmie Johnson

4)         Mark Martin

5)         Jeff Burton

6)         Juan Pablo Montoya

7)         Dale Earnhardt Jr.

8)         Denny Hamlin

9)         Brad Keselowski

10)       Kyle Busch

11)       Clint Bowyer

12)       Matt Kenseth

13)       Jeff Gordon

14)       Aric Almirola

15)       Kevin Harvick

16)       Greg Biffle

17)       Martin Truex Jr.

18)       Trevor Bayne

19)       Carl Edwards

20)       Paul Menard

21)       Ryan Newman

22)       Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

23)       David Gilliland

24)       David Ragan

25)       David Reutimann

26)       Marcos Ambrose

27)       Austin Dillon

28)       Danica Patrick

29)       Jamie McMurray

30)       Bobby Labonte

31)       Kasey Kahne

32)       Scott Speed

33)       Casey Mears

34)       Timmy Hill

35)       JJ Yeley

36)       David Stremme

37)       Joe Nemechek

38)       Travis Kvapil

39)       Brendan Gaughan

40)       Josh Wise

41)       Johnny Sauter

42)       Dave Blaney

43)       Landon Cassill

More from SB Nation:

NASCAR power rankings

Who will Chip Ganassi sign to replace Montoya?

Juan Pablo Montoya not returning to EGR in 2014

Brian Vickers to drive No. 55 MWR car full-time

Longform: The good times and hard life of Dick Trickle

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.