Jose Manuel de la Torre names Mexico roster for upcoming World Cup qualifiers

Ezra Shaw - Getty Images

Javier Hernandez and Andres Guardado are in a weakened Mexico team for qualifiers against Guyana and El Salvador.

Jose Manuel 'Chepo' de la Torre has named 22 players to the Mexico roster for upcoming World Cup qualifiers against Guyana and El Salvador. Mexico have already qualified for the final round of CONCACAF World Cup qualifying, giving de la Torre the chance to experiment some and take a look at some young players.

Héctor Herrera starred for Mexico at the Olympics and will get his first crack with the senior team in the upcoming qualifiers. With the double pivot in Mexico's midfield still very much a question mark, this is a golden opportunity for the talented Herrera to make his case for a regular place in the team.

Herrera is one of seven players from Mexico's Olympic team to get a call in. That inclues his midfield partner at the Olympics, Jorge Enríquez, and a trio of outstanding young defenders, Israel Jimenez, Hiram Mier and Diego Reyes.

The biggest surprise on the roster is Sinha, the 36-year-old who is in good form for Toluca and has a good relationship with de la Torre, but is still a shock inclusion. Club León's Carlos Peña will also open some people's eyes.

Javier 'Chicharito' Hernandez, Andres Guardado and Aldo de Nigris lead the group of established national teamers, while Giovani dos Santos, Pablo Barrera and Marco Fabian miss out through injury. Some will be disappointed not to see Carlos Vela on the team, but the forward has had a rocky relationship with de la Torre and the FMF, which is apparently weighing more heavily than his fine play for Real Sociedad of late.

Mexico will play Guyana on October 12 in Houston, TX, then host El Salvador in Torréon to close out the third round of qualifying. The final round will begin in February of 2013.

Goalkeepers: Guillermo Ochoa (AC Ajaccio), Alfredo Talavera (Toluca).

Defenders: Adrián Aldrete (América), Israel Jiménez (Tigres), Severo Meza (Monterrey), Hiram Mier (Monterrey), Héctor Moreno (Espanyol), Diego Reyes (América), Francisco Javier Rodríguez (Vfb Stuttgart), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres).

Midfielders: Javier Aquino (Cruz Azul), Jorge Enríquez (Guadalajara), Andrés Guardado (Valencia), Elías Hernández (Tigres), Héctor Herrera (Pachuca), Carlos Peña (Club León), Ángel Reyna (Monterrey), Sinha (Toluca), Gerardo Torrado (Cruz Azul).

Forwards: Aldo de Nigris (Monterrey), Javier Hernández (Manchester United), Oribe Peralta (Santos Laguna),

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.