NCAA Tournament 2013: Head of officials disagrees with Ohio State/Iowa State charge call

Before Aaron Craft's big shot, he took a charge that has been a hot topic of conversation already. The debate has been about the circle underneath the basket, but is that the only thing that matters?

Ohio State knocked off Iowa State on a last-second three-pointer from Aaron Craft in the NCAA Tournament Third Round on Sunday, but the possession prior to the buzzer-beater is the hot topic of debate. Craft stepped in on a driving Will Clyburn. The two collided, and the baseline referee called a charge and gave the ball to Ohio State.

From that moment on the broadcast, then on the postgame show, there has been debate over whether or not Craft was inside the restricted circle under the basket. Even NCAA head of officials John Adams was unsure, but felt the call may have been wrong because Craft's heel was inside the circle. Charles Barkley, Greg Anthony, and the rest of CBS' crew discussed that point with him:

Here is the position of his feet isolated:

Craft_medium

Hard to tell, right? Well, it really doesn't matter. By the NCAA's definition, the play by Craft was a block, and it has nothing to do with the position of his feet.

Whether or not the heel is inside the arc isn't be the only thing that matters. In fact, the NCAA was concerned about that very point last summer, and tried to address the assumption that officials have become too dependent on the line and ignore other aspects of the block/charge call.

There is one key point that the NCAA made last summer when addressing the block charge:

Before the offensive player (with the ball) becomes airborne, the defender must have two feet on the floor, be facing the opponent and be stationary to draw a charge. Otherwise, it should be a blocking foul.

The video above shows that Clyburn became airborne before Craft was able to set his feet and become stationary. Craft settled himself as Clyburn flew at him, effectively undercutting Clyburn. The call isn't easy, but it is a block. This may be a case of the official relying too much on that arc.

If the play was called correctly, Iowa State would have scored with a free throw coming. Instead, Ohio State was playing in a tie game on its final possession, and Craft's shot was enough to send the Buckeyes to the Sweet 16.

More in College Basketball:

Sunday's March Madness TV schedule

March Madness: Saturday's scores, GIFs and more

Printable bracket for March Madness

Chasing Cinderella: Iona's inspiring run

An oral history of Bryce Drew's epic buzzer-beater

Full coverage of March Madness

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.