The Opening 2012: Top Recruits Compete At Nike Facility


BEAVERTON, Ore. (July 4, 2012) - They know their rating and they've put in the training. Now it's time to show they can compete at the highest level against their peers. Today Nike announced the schedule for "The Opening" presented by Nike Football - the ultimate football training experience - four days of dynamic training, coaching and competition for 150 of the country's most elite high school football players.

Designed to give student-athletes the training and knowledge to develop their speed, explosiveness and position skills, "The Opening" brings together top prospects - all battling for the chance to claim ultimate bragging rights.

Every position and every aspect of the game will be highlighted over the course of the four-day program (July 5-8) with players being put to the ultimate test by the world's top athletes and coaches. Nike will ultimately crown winners for the Nike 7ON tournament, Nike Linemen Challenge, and SPARQ Rating National Championship.

The Opening will bring together athletes from 30 different states plus Washington D.C. and ESPNU will nationally televise the highly anticipated event with competition Friday, Saturday and Sunday beginning each night at 5 p.m. PST.

Coverage will include the nation¹s leading college recruits going through the four disciplines of the SPARQ Rating National Championship, action from the six teams of top skill players facing off in the Nike 7ON tournament, plus the Lineman Challenge going one-on-one to crown champions on each side of the ball.

The Journey to The Opening started in January with a series of Nike Football SPARQ Combines operated by ESPNHS running through June in 15 major markets. Athletes competed in the 40-yard dash, vertical jump, 20-yard shuttle and the kneeling power ball throw for a chance to qualify for The Opening and receive an official SPARQ rating. From there Nike Football Training Camps began in March with 12 opportunities for the best players from each region to learn, train and compete together. All of these experiences lead to The Opening.

The following players are among the standouts competing at The Opening:


OL Austin Golson

TE O.J. Howard

LB Reuben Foster


RB Altee Tenpenny


CB Priest Willis


OL Alex Redmond

OL Cameron Hunt

CB Chris Hawkins

WR Corey Robinson

WR Damore'ea Stringfellow

WR Darrell Daniels

WR Darren Carrington

DL Eddie Vanderdoes

DL Elijah Qualls

SAF Hatari Byrd

DL Joe Mathis

OL John Lopez

RB Justin Davis

LB Kevin Palma

CB Kevin King

CB L.J. Moore

TE Marcus Baugh

LB Michael Hutchings

OL Nico Falah

OL Scott Quessenberry

WR Sebastian LaRue

WR Steven Mitchell

SAF Tahaan Goodman

SAF Tyler Foreman

Washington, D.C.

CB Devin Butler


WR Ahmad Fulwood

WR Alvin Bailey

CB Artie Burns

DL Caleb Brantley

DL Demarcus Walker

OL Denver Kirkland

RB Derrick Henry

DL Devin Washington

OL Ira Denson

WR Isaiah Jones

LB Jermaine Grace

DL Jordan Sherit

SAF Keanu Neal

RB Kelvin Taylor

SAF Leon McQuay

WR Levonte Whitfield

SAF Marcell Harris

LB Matthew Thomas

SAF Nick Washington

LB Quinton Powell

CB Reggie Wilkerson

WR Reggie Davis

RB Ryan Green

CB Sojourn Shelton

WR Tony Stevens

TE Travis Johnson

CB Vernon Hargreaves

CB Will Likely


RB Alvin Kamara

TE Arshad Jackson

OL Brandon Kublanow

CB Brendan Langley

QB Brice Ramsey

DL Carl Lawson

WR Kyrin Priester

WR Ryan Jenkins

OL Shamire Devine

CB Shaquille Wiggins

SAF Tray Matthews

LB Trey Johnson


LB Isaac Savaiinaea


OL Ross Pierschbacher ('14)


OL Colin McGovern

OL Kyle Bosch

WR Laquon Treadwell

RB Ty Isaac

OL Tyler Lancaster


DL Darius Latham

DL Elijah Daniel

LB Jaylon Smith


DL Jason Hatcher


CB Jeryl Brazil

LB Kendell Beckwith

CB Noel Ellis


LB Dorian O'Daniel

CB Kendall Fuller

WR Paul Harris


OL David Dawson

SAF Delano Hill

CB Jourdan Lewis

QB Shane Morris

OL Steven Elmer


WR James Onwualu


RB Ezekiel Elliott

North Carolina

TE Josh McNeil

CB Korrin Wiggins

LB Larenz Bryant

LB Peter Kalambayi

DL Tyquan Lewis

New Jersey

CB Eli Woodard

DL Tashawn Bower

CB Tre Bell

New York

DL Ebenezer Ogundeko


CB Cameron Burrows

TE Jake Butt

ATH Jalin Marshall

SAF Jayme Thompson

LB Mike McCray

CB Ross Douglas

DL Taco Charlton


LB Johnny Ragin

OL Skyler Phillips


LB Alex Anzalone

RB David Williams

South Carolina

WR Tramel Terry


OL Christian Morris

DL Frank Herron

CB Jalen Ramsey

LB Jalen Reeves-Maybin

LB Marcus Robinson

RB Mark Dodson


DL A'Shawn Robinson

DL Christian LaCouture

CB Colin Spencer

LB Deon Hollins

RB Dontre Wilson

WR Eldridge Massington

WR Jacorey Warrick

OL Jake Raulerson

WR Jake Oliver

SAF Kameron Miles

WR LaQuvionte Gonzalez

CB Maurice Smith

LB Mike Mitchell

WR Ra'Shaad Samples

WR Ricky Seals-Jones

WR Torii Hunter Jr.

DL Torrodney Prevot

QB Tyrone Swoopes


QB Cooper Bateman


QB Christian Hackenberg

DL Da'Shawn Hand ('14)

RB Derrick Green

LB Doug Randolph

SAF Holland Fisher

LB Matt Rolin

CB Quin Blanding ('14)

RB Taquan Mizzell


QB Max Browne


DL Chikwe Obasih

West Virginia

WR Ryan Switzer

Latest News

In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.