Stanford catch vs. Oregon: Touchdown or not?

You probably have an opinion on whether this was a catch or not. Let 'er rip!

This throw from Stanford's Kevin Hogan to Zach Ertz was originally ruled out of bounds, but after a review it was called a touchdown. The Cardinal then kicked it through to tie up one of the biggest games of the year, 14-14, and giving Notre Dame, Alabama and Georgia fans visions of crystal.

The question: was this a touchdown? (Very, very nice work by ABC here.)

Ertz_medium

I saw it very passionately argued both ways, by fans of teams besides Oregon or Stanford. It looks to me like his shoulder lands in bounds as he has clear possession of the ball, and all the rolling around and carrying on that occurs afterward doesn't matter. Once it's a touchdown, it's a touchdown. Satisfactory call by the refs in a tough spot, as far as I'm concerned.

What do you think?

Look through SB Nation's many excellent college football blogs to find your team's community.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.