A confusing call against Florida State has ramped up the upset alert in Virginia Tech's favor.
I'm gonna be honest: I don't immediately understand what I'm looking at here. Neither did David Pollack, who quizzed Rece Davis on whether this should've been called a safety, an incompletion or a downed runner an inch out of the end zone. Ron Cherry Zone.
Watch for yourself and tell us how you'd judge this play by Florida State's Devonta Freeman against Virginia Tech:
It was ruled an illegal forward pass, resulting in a safety.
But what kind of illegal forward pass? Grounding seems to be the popular explanation going around. He was outside the tackle box (as far as I can tell), but the ball doesn't pass the line of scrimmage. Okay, that makes sense. There hadn't already been a pass on the play, so it wasn't a double pass. It's not entirely clear that the ball is on the other side of the goal line just before being released, but whatever man.
The call was made, everyone looked around, and the ball was kicked off again. Alright.
Look through SB Nation's many excellent college football blogs to find your team's community.