When a quarterback intentionally grounds a football while he is in the end zone, the result of the play is a safety. This make sense, considering that the intent of the intentional grounding rule is to, essentially, reward the defense with a sack.
This is a rule that everyone agrees is fair, except, of course, when the quarterback is not actually in the end zone when he intentionally grounds the football, as was the case when Ohio's Tyler Tettleton threw the ball away under heavy pressure from the Buffalo defense.
The officials began reviewing the play but returned to the field to announce that the play is not reviewable. By the letter of the rule book, that is correct, but the outcome makes absolutely no sense whatsoever.
More from SB Nation college football:
• Long read: Inside Chip Kelly’s New Hampshire laboratory