How long has it been since your college football team won a conference title?

Daniel Shirey-USA TODAY Sports

Sometimes teams can go a long time without winning their conference. We took a look to see exactly how long it's been for every FBS football program.

We decided to take a look at every FBS football program in the nation and find the last time each won a conference championship. But first, some observations:
  • Over 67 percent of all FBS teams have won at least a share of a conference title since the beginning of the BCS era in 1998. This stat includes conference championships won at lower levels prior to coming up to the FBS level.
  • Almost 75 percent of all current FBS programs have won at least a share of a conference title in the past 20 years.
  • By far, the longest title drought belongs to Iowa State, whose last conference title came in 1912, as a member of the Missouri Valley Intercollegiate Athletic Association, the forerunner of the Big Eight.

Team Last Conf. Title (inc. shared)

Alabama 2012

Arkansas State 2012

Boise State 2012

Cincinnati 2012

Florida State 2012

Fresno State 2012

Kansas State 2012

Louisville 2012

Northern Illinois 2012

Rutgers 2012

San Diego State 2012

Stanford 2012

Syracuse 2012

Tulsa 2012

Utah State 2012

Wisconsin 2012

Clemson 2011

Louisiana Tech 2011

LSU 2011

Oklahoma State 2011

Oregon 2011

Southern Miss 2011

TCU 2011

West Virginia 2011

Auburn 2010

Central Florida 2010

Florida International 2010

Hawaii 2010

Miami (OH) 2010

Michigan State 2010

Nevada 2010

Ohio State 2010

Oklahoma 2010

Pittsburgh 2010

Troy 2010

UConn 2010

Virginia Tech 2010

Central Michigan 2009

East Carolina 2009

Georgia Tech 2009

Texas 2009

Buffalo 2008

Florida 2008

Penn State 2008

Texas State 2008

USC 2008

Utah 2008

Arizona State 2007

BYU 2007

Florida Atlantic 2007

UMass 2007

Cal 2006

Houston 2006

Middle Tennessee 2006

Wake Forest 2006

Akron 2005

Georgia 2005

UL-Lafayette 2005

UL-Monroe 2005

Boston College 2004

Iowa 2004

Michigan 2004

North Texas 2004

Toledo 2004

Miami 2003

Colorado State 2002

Marshall 2002

Washington State 2002

Western Kentucky 2002

Colorado 2001

Illinois 2001

Maryland 2001

Northwestern 2000

Oregon State 2000

Purdue 2000

UTEP 2000

Washington 2000

Nebraska 1999

Air Force 1998

Idaho 1998

Tennessee 1998

Texas A&M 1998

Tulane 1998

UCLA 1998

Ball State 1996

Virginia 1995

Baylor 1994

Rice 1994

Texas Tech 1994

UNLV 1994

Arizona 1993

Wyoming 1993

Bowling Green 1992

San Jose State 1991

Arkansas 1989

Duke 1989

Western Michigan 1988

Eastern Michigan 1987

SMU 1984

North Carolina 1980

North Carolina State 1979

New Mexico State 1978

Kentucky 1976

Kent State 1972

Memphis 1969

Missouri 1969

South Carolina 1969

Kansas 1968

Ohio 1968

Indiana 1967

Minnesota 1967

Temple 1967

New Mexico 1964

Ole Miss 1963

Mississippi State 1941

Vanderbilt 1923

Iowa State 1912

Army Independent

Navy Independent

Notre Dame Independent

Georgia State N/A

South Alabama N/A

South Florida N/A



Team Last Conf. Title (inc. shared)

Note: I included vacated conference titles in the table above. There aren't as many as you would think, and we all remember who really won the games.

More from SB Nation:

Inside Butch Jones’ Tennessee

Two words: JurasSEC Park

DAN ON FIRE: Stop drafting SEC players

Nebraska’s Jack Hoffman makes the play of 2013?


How’s Auburn Scandal Week holding up?

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.