The best quarterbacks in college football, according to the 2013 O'Brien list

Thomas Campbell-US PRESSWIRE

Johnny Manziel, Braxton Miller and Teddy Bridgewater highlight the O'Brien watch list.

Former recipient Johnny Manziel and 2012 award finalist Braxton Miller highlight the 2013 Davey O'Brien Award watch list, released on Wednesday. The Davey O'Brien Award is given annually to the top quarterback in college football, as selected by a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters. The Award was first given in 1981. Here is the full O'Brien watch list:

Manziel will attempt to become the fourth quarterback to win the O'Brien Award twice, a feat that has not been accomplished since Oklahoma's Jason White took the trophy in 2003 and 2004. Other potential winners include the aforementioned Miller, as well as Clemson's Tajh Boyd, Louisville's Teddy Bridgewater and Georgia's Aaron Murray.

BYU has received the most Davey O'Brien Awards, earning four trophies in the first 11 years that the Award was given out. Florida and Oklahoma have each won three Davey O'Brien Awards, while Florida State, Miami, Penn State, Iowa and Texas have won two apiece.

The last three Heisman Trophy winners -- Manziel, Baylor's Robert Griffin III, and Auburn's Cam Newton -- have also taken home the O'Brien. In fact, of the last seven O'Brien Award recipients, only one -- 2009 winner Colt McCoy -- did not take home the Heisman.

More from SB Nation:

Loads of SEC Media Days coverage, live from Hoover

Projecting every 2013 college football conference race

Tons of top recruit interviews from SB Nation at The Opening

Bill Connelly’s Pac-12 team preview series is underway

National recruiting coverage

Today’s college football news headlines

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.