Jameis Winston, P.J. Williams named 2014 BCS Championship MVPs

Stephen Dunn

Jameis Winston and P.J. Williams took home MVP honors for their performances in Florida State's thrilling 34-31 win in the BCS Championship.

The moments between Florida State's comeback win and Jameis Winston being named Offensive MVP of the final BCS Championship Game might have been the least suspenseful of the entire evening.

Even though Winston and the entire Florida State offense struggled for three quarters, the Heisman Trophy winner turned it on when his team needed it most. Winston led the Seminoles on an 80-yard, game-winning-touchdown drive and capped it off with a beautifully thrown slant route to Kelvin Benjamin that left just 13 seconds left on the clock. He did all of this while being a freshman playing on college football's biggest, most intimidating stage.

Winston finished the night with 20 completed passes in 35 attempts for 237 yards and a pair of touchdowns. He also carried the ball 11 times for 26 yards.

P.J. Williams picked up Defensive MVP honors for the Seminoles. His interception of Nick Marshall in the fourth quarter keyed a Seminole scoring drive that brought Florida State to within one point of neutralizing Auburn's once-overwhelming 21-3 lead.

Here's the all-time, final list of BCS Championship Game MVPs:

Season Teams Offensive MVP Defensive MVP
1999 Tennessee vs. Florida State Peerless Price Dwayne Goodrich
2000 Florida State vs. Virginia Tech Peter Warrick N/A
2001 Oklahoma vs. Florida State N/A Torrance Marshall
2002 Miami vs. Nebraska Ken Dorsey/Andre Johnson N/A
2003 Ohio State vs. Miami Craig Krenzel Mike Doss
2004 LSU vs. Oklahoma Justin Vincent N/A
2005 USC vs. Oklahoma Matt Leinart N/A
2006 Texas vs. USC Vince Young Michael Huff
2007 Florida vs. Ohio State Chris Leak Derrick Harvey
2008 LSU vs. Ohio State Matt Flynn Ricky Jean-Francois
2009 Florida vs. Oklahoma Tim Tebow Carlos Dunlap
2010 Alabama vs. Texas Mark Ingram Marcell Dareus
2011 Auburn vs. Oregon Michael Dyer Nick Fairley
2012 Alabama vs. LSU A.J. McCarron Courtney Upshaw
2013 Alabama vs. Notre Dame Eddie Lacy C.J. Mosley
2014 Florida State vs. Auburn Jameis Winston P.J. Williams

Winston becomes the first Heisman winner to also win MVP in the BCS Championship since Mark Ingram pulled it off in 2010.

More from SB Nation college football:

Tons of BCS Championship coverage: Before, during, and after

How FSU and Auburn were built: Why recruiting matters so much

Goodbye to the BCS (which dies tonight)

College football news | Strong to Texas: 10 possible Louisville candidates

Long CFB reads | The death of a college football player

In This Article

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.