Tour de France 2014 results and standings, Stage 10: Alberto Contador crashes, Vincenzo Nibali victorious

Bryn Lennon

Alberto Contador, one of the favorites to win the whole thing, is now out of the Tour de France after a crash in Stage 10. Vincenzo Nibali regained his yellow jersey with a win in said stage.

It was an eventful Stage 10 at the Tour de France on Monday, though it wasn't all positive. Alberto Contador had a rough crash during the stage and suffered a broken tibia. He's officially out of the race going forward. Contador, a two-time champion of the race, fell down between Mulhouse and La Planche des Belles Filles.

Stage 10 was regarded as one of the tougher stages in the tour, with four Category 1 climbs. It was Contador's second fall of the day. Contador was one of the favorites to win the general classification, along with reigning champ Chris Froome, who also withdrew due to injuries back in the fifth stage.

Vincenzo Nibali reclaimed his yellow jersey with a stunning victory in the stage. Nibali attacked late, in the final minutes of the race, and he quickly put everyone else behind him. With a kilometer to go, Nibali passed Joaquim Rodriguez; the Spaniard attempted to regain, but Nibali attacked once more to finish and left Rodriguez behind.

It's Nibali's second stage win of this year's tour. He now has a gap of over two minutes on second place, held by Richie Porte of Team Sky. Nibali is now the heavy favorite to take it all this year.  We've got some results from the stage and overall below, but be sure to check out Podium Cafe and the official tour website:

Stage results

Pos. Rider Time
1 Vincenzo Nibali 04h 27' 26''
2 Thibaut Pinot + 00' 15''
3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte + 00' 20''
4 Jean-Christophe Peraud + 00' 20''
5 Romain Bardet + 00' 22''

Overall results

Pos. Rider Time Gap
1 Vincenzo Nibali 42h 33' 38''
2 Richie Porte 42h 36' 01'' + 02' 23''
3 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte 42h 36' 25'' + 02' 47''
4 Romain Bardet 42h 36' 39'' + 03' 01''
5 Tony Gallopin 42h 36' 50'' + 03' 12''

Points leader

Pos. Rider Points
1 Peter Sagan 287 pts
2 Bryan Coquard 156 pts
3 Marcel Kittel 146 pts
4 Alexander Kristoff 117 pts
5 Mark Renshaw 101 pts

More from

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.