2013 Presidents Cup match schedule: Tiger Woods, Matt Kuchar paired together for Thursday Four Ball

Andy Lyons

The Presidents Cup captains have set the order for the first day, and there were no real surprises in pairings for Four Ball on Thursday.

For the first time since 1996, the Presidents Cup will start with Four Ball format on the first day of competition. Four Ball is the two-man game where each player plays his own ball, and the best of the two scores is matched against the opponent's best ball. Foursomes is the other two-man game, and that's an alternate shot format which is typically much trickier for these pros who are always picky about controlling every circumstance surrounding every shot.

It was the International side that lobbied for the switch to Four Ball on the first day. The International group typically flies in from all over the world allowing little time for practice, and has far less experience playing with one another in the past. The American side gets to run through this format annually, alternating between the Presidents Cup and Ryder Cup but the turnover every year on the International team is much more dramatic. That makes alternate shot, using another player's ball more difficult. It's an easier start to the week by playing your own ball.

The American team has owned the Presidents Cup largely by jumping out to insurmountable leads early in the weekend, dominating Foursomes on Thursday and never looking back. But the PGA Tour relented to try and make things a little more competitive, so the switch was made.

In a dramatic! made-for-TV announcement segment just after 1 p.m. on Wednesday, captains Nick Price and Fred Couples set the lineups in the media center on Wednesday afternoon. There were no real surprises in the pairings, based on everything we've heard and seen this week. The only thing up for debate was the order, and how each captain would counter the first announced team (they alternated going first). Here's the Thursday afternoon lineup for Four Ball, which will start around 11:45 a.m. ET  at Murifield Village (International team on the left and American duo on the right).

Match One

Jason DayGraham DeLaet vs. Hunter Mahan / Brandt Snedeker

Match Two

Adam ScottHideki Matsuyama vs. Bill Haas / Webb Simpson

Match Three

Louis Oosthuizen / Charl Schwartzel vs. Phil MickelsonKeegan Bradley

Match Four

Ernie ElsBrendon de Jonge vs. Steve StrickerJordan Spieth

Match Five

Angel CabreraMarc Leishman vs. Matt KucharTiger Woods

Match Six

Branden GraceRichard Sterne vs. Jason DufnerZach Johnson

More from SB Nation Golf:

Complete Presidents Cup coverage

Adam Scott: International side needs win to keep Cup a real competition

Tiger Woods wins PGA Tour Player of the Year

Jordan Spieth: Rookie year "a dream come true"

PGA Tour, Tiger want to reassess viewer call-in penalties

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.