The debate over whether Tiger Woods took an illegal drop on No. 15 has hit Augusta National, as reports are now out that tournament officials are meeting this morning to discuss the issue. Robert Lusetich of FOX Sports tweeted shortly before 8 a.m. that officials were now aware of the situation and reviewing it:
I've just been told by a high-ranking source that Augusta National is reviewing Tiger's drop but "it may take a little while" #dropgate— Robert Lusetich (@RobertLusetich) April 13, 2013
It's pretty astonishing that the issue did not come up until late Friday night, almost certainly after everyone at Augusta had left the premises, and was likely even in bed.
What's being reviewed is Tiger's drop on No. 15 after his ball caromed off the pin and into the pond in front of the green. Tiger had the option to play it on the line where it crossed into the water, or drop and play from the same spot of the first shot. Tiger said after the round that he went two yards back from the spot of his original shot, and he certainly wasn't on the same line because of the carom off the flagstick.
So the review is likely centered around whether Tiger was within proximity of the spot of the original shot, but his "two yards back" quote after the round could be his undoing. Also of note is another post round quote from Tiger, who said "Rule are rules" when asked about the slow play penalty assessed to Tianlang Guan.
As Lusetich tweets, this could be awhile.