The Masters 2013: Two ways Tiger Woods could escape disqualification


Here are two decisions in the Rules of Golf that very well could prevent Tiger Woods from being disqualified from The Masters.

As the golf world sits on the edge of its proverbial seat awaiting a decision on Tiger Woods' future at the 2013 Masters, armchair Rules Officials have taken to Twitter to seek clarification on this issue.

It would appear that Tiger has two "outs" thanks to some interesting language in the Rules of Golf. Specifically, Decision 26-1/17 and Rule 33-7. (Note: "Decisions" are meant to be a type of addendum to a rule)

First, Decision 26-1/17, as pointed out by one Twitter follower:


Point Where Ball Last Crossed Margin of Lateral Water Hazard Determined and Ball Dropped and Played; Point Then Proves to Be Wrong Point

Q.In the circumstances described in Decision 26-1/16, what is the ruling if A, having dropped a ball in a wrong place, plays it before his error is discovered?

A. Player A must continue play with the ball played from a wrong place, without penalty. Applying a penalty under Rule 26-1 for playing from a wrong place (see Rule 20-7) is not appropriate. Otherwise, a competitor would risk incurring a penalty every time he makes an honest judgment as to the point where his ball last crosses a water-hazard margin and that judgment subsequently proves incorrect.

The issue with this approach is that Tiger would have to change his tune on what actually happened during the round. He has given no indication that another player approached him immediately following his third shot to inform Tiger of his error.

Now for Rule 33-7, as Ryan Ballengee of the Back9Network points out:

33-7. Disqualification Penalty; Committee Discretion

A penalty of disqualification may in exceptional individual cases be waived, modified or imposed if the Committee considers such action warranted.

Any penalty less than disqualification must not be waived or modified.

If a Committee considers that a player is guilty of a serious breach of etiquette, it may impose a penalty of disqualification under this Rule.

In other words, Augusta Rules Officials have the discretion to determine if disqualification is appropriate in this case. Depending on your stance on this issue -- and on Tiger Woods in general -- this is going to be a very messy Saturday morning.

More Masters from SB Nation:

Remixing the Masters

14-year old Tianlang Guan’s incredible day

Jim Nantz, our nation’s highest-paid tree

Tiger Woods never left

Who’s Mark Leishman?

Ian Woosnam is going the wrong way

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.