Moments after Augusta National rules officials announced that Tiger Woods would receive a two-shot penalty for an improper drop instead of disqualification for signing an incorrect scorecard, the Golf Channel's Brandel Chamblee voiced his opinion on-air.
"I'm a fan of Tiger Woods and a huge fan of golf," Chamblee prefaced. "This is going to be the most controversial thing that follows him around for the rest of his career."
"This is a flagrant, obvious violation. If Tiger has read the rule -- and I am sure he has by now -- it is incumbent upon him to say that he is in violation of [Rule] 26-1a and disqualify himself. Anything else, frankly, is unacceptable."
This decision comes on the heels of a 2011 USGA decision regarding high-definition television cameras potentially giving viewers an advantage over players. Under that rule, players who unknowingly signed an incorrect scorecard after learning of a rules infraction -- as pointed-out by cameras -- would receive a two-shot penalty in lieu of disqualification.
"This is a solution to a modern phenomenon that the rules never contemplated," said Mike Davis, executive director of the USGA that year. "These are things that could not happen in day-to-day competition and couldn't be discovered without specialized cameras that zoom in and make a golf ball look the size of a basketball."
Clearly, there will be much debate on whether today's ruling was appropriate in the case of Tiger Woods.