Tiger Woods woke up Saturday morning to the news that his drop on the 15th hole in Friday's second round was the subject of intense scrutiny.
“This morning,” Woods told CBS’ Bill Macatee about when he learned that there was an issue with how he dropped the ball after his third shot on the par-5 found water.
“I got a text from Steiny [agent Mark Steinberg], says call me,” Woods said with a laugh. “That’s never a good thing when that happens.”
Woods next phoned Fred Ridley, chair of the Masters competition committee, who asked him to come to the Augusta National course to review the incident.
“And I did,” Woods said.
Ridley told reporters earlier in the day that two TV viewers informed the rules committee about the issue, which officials had previously determined was not a problem. They changed their minds after the second caller alerted them to Woods’ televised statement that he had dropped his ball some two yards away from the original spot of the shot, which had clanked off the flag stick and caromed into the water.
As to whether he ever considered disqualifying himself from the tourney, Woods said no.
“Under the rules of golf, I’m abiding by the rule,” he said, referring to Rule 33-7. The rule was instituted in 2011 to protect players from disqualification if they signed scorecards with incorrect scores after unknowingly breaching the regulations. “They made the determination that nothing had happened and they called me in this morning and I got a two-shot penalty, and, you know, time to play.”
Woods also said he “absolutely” deserved the two-stroke punishment.
“Under the rules of golf I took an improper drop and I got a penalty,” he said.
More Masters from SB Nation: