2013 Presidents Cup team: Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson lead American roster

Ryan Pierse

The Americans haven't lost a Presidents Cup in 15 years, and Phil Mickelson and Tiger Woods will again lead the team next month in Ohio.

Monday's final round of the Deutsche Bank Championship not only determined the final 70 players moving on in the 2013 FedExCup, but it also finalized the automatic qualifiers for the USA roster and International team for next month's Presidents Cup. There was not much movement on the American side, but both Steve Stricker and Zach Johnson needed the final round on Labor Day to lock up their spots.

Johnson snuck past Webb Simpson to claim the 10th and final spot on the last hole at TPC Boston. Simpson bogeyed two of his last four holes, while Johnson picked up two red numbers on his last three holes coming into the house to earn the final automatic spot by a single shot. The two were grouped together, and after the round, Johnson tweeted that his Monday playing partner still deserved a spot, which can be granted to him by team captain Fred Couples later this week:

Couples will round out the team with two captain's picks to finalize the roster at 12. Simpson is a prime candidate to receive the call, but there are also some huge names outside the top 10, including Bubba Watson, Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler, and Jim Furyk.

But the one name with all the momentum for a captain's choice is 20-year-old Jordan Spieth. The American phenom continued his amazing debut season on Monday with a final round 62 in Boston to finish tied for fourth. Spieth started the year without a PGA Tour card, and now he has a guaranteed spot in the most exclusive field of the year -- the final 30 at the FedExCup's Tour Championship. After becoming the first teenager in 80-plus years to win on the PGA Tour, Spieth followed up his July victory at the John Deere with contention at The Open and a playoff second-place finish at the Wyndham Championship. He's now got two top 20 finishes to start the FedExCup, where he's 10th in the standings. Even though he's way back in 22nd in the Presidents Cup standings, Spieth, who didn't have as many chances to earn points in that race, seems to be the trendy pick for Muirfield Village. Will Couples oblige?

Here are the final standings for the American side. Points are calculated by money earned over the past two seasons -- one point for every dollar last year, and two points for every dollar this year:

Standings Player Points
1 Tiger Woods 22,627,211
2 Brandt Snedeker 15,039,781
3 Phil Mickelson 14,938,074
4 Matt Kuchar 14,928,415
5 Jason Dufner 10,831,972
6 Keegan Bradley 10,730,684
7 Steve Stricker 10,431,084
8 Bill Haas 10,353,876
9 Hunter Mahan 10,021,521
10 Zach Johnson 9,185,262
Missed Qualifying
11 Webb Simpson 9,173,832
12 Dustin Johnson 8,788,408
13 Jim Furyk 8,686,163
14 Bubba Watson 8,169,548
15 Billy Horschel 6,988,315
16 Kevin Streelman 6,894,297
17 Rickie Fowler 6,634,176
18 D.A. Points 6,557,015
19 Nick Watney 6,532,302
20 Scott Piercy 6,444,347
21 Boo Weekley 6,170,270
22 Jordan Spieth 6,079,639
23 John Huh 5,709,477
24 Harris English 5,548,017
25 Robert Garrigus 5,541,046

The International side is represented by some of the usual suspects from South Africa and Australia. But Canadian Graham DeLaet joined Stricker and Johnson in using Monday's last round to secure his spot on the team. Unlike the Ryder Cup, the Americans have dominated the Presidents Cup, winning seven of the nine cups in the event's history (one being a controversial tie). International captain Nick Price will also make his two captain's selections on Wednesday. Here's the team that will go for that first ever International win, along with the first 10 out:

Standings Player Country
1 Adam Scott Australia
2 Jason Day Australia
3 Charl Schwartzel South Africa
4 Ernie Els South Africa
5 Louis Oosthuizen South Africa
6 Hideki Matsuyama Japan
7 Branden Grace South Africa
8 Graham DeLaet Canada
9 Richard Sterne South Africa
10 Angel Cabrera Argentina
Missed Qualifying
11 Thongchai Jaidee Thailand
12 Marc Leishman Australia
13 Tim Clark South Africa
14 Brendon de Jonge Zimbabwe
15 George Coetzee South Africa
16 Brett Rumford Australia
17 Kiradech Aphibarnrat Thailand
18 Geoff Ogilvy Australia
19 Marcus Fraser Australia
20 Hiroyuki Fujita Japan

More from SB Nation Golf:

Tiger loves Phil's absurd wedge shot

The drama of another Tiger Woods injury

Phil relishes head-to-head with Tiger, goes low at TPC Boston

Golf aids rehab efforts for Boston Marathon bombing survivors

The $1 million golf shot: Watch this hole-in-one

Full Deutsche Bank Championship coverage

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.