Sony Open 2014: Tee times, pairings for Thursday's round

Tom Pennington

The second week of the 2014 season features the first full field of year at one of the Tour's classic and most scenic stops.

The PGA Tour will stay out in Hawaii this week for the second event of the 2014 calendar season, stopping at Waialae Country Club for the annual Sony Open. This is the first full-field event of the year, with last week's stop on Maui limited only to the winners of 2013 events on Tour (30 players total).

So this will be our first look at many of the newcomers, rookies who have earned their card and will be filling out the fields for much of the season on Tour. There are, however, still some big names who made the jump over from Maui to Oahu. Last week's winner at Kapalua, Zach Johnson, is on hand and going for back-to-back wins to sweep the Hawaii swing. Given Johnson's form since, well, mid-July, he's the unquestioned favorite this week. The shorter, winding, and tight layout at the classic course sets up well for Zach, one of the best ball-strikers in the world.

Joining Johnson to tee it up for the second straight week are Adam Scott, Jason Dufner, Jordan Spieth, Matt Kuchar, Harris English, and defending champ Russell Henley. Those are some heavy hitters sprinkled into the larger field of newcomers and weekly regulars, so we should have a good leaderboard come Sunday afternoon. Scott, Dufner, and Kuchar will all play together in what will be the marquee group through the first two rounds. They tee off at 12:50 p.m. ET on Thursday. This will be the last look at the defending Masters champ Scott, who plans to rest for the next six weeks, skipping the entire West Coast swing and popping back up in Florida just in time for a little Masters prep.

The Tour once again has the benefit of showing primetime golf back in the frigid eastern U.S. The first group will be out by Noon, with play likely not wrapping up until almost 11 p.m. ET. Here's the full tee sheet for Thursday's opening round:

First wave off No. 1:

Tee Time Players
12:00 p.m. Imada, Ryuji Hoffmann, Morgan Lee, D.H.
12:10 p.m. Bettencourt, Matt McGirt, William Hicks, Justin
12:20 p.m. Overton, Jeff Every, Matt Harman, Brian
12:30 p.m. Pettersson, Carl Goosen, Retief Allenby, Robert
12:40 p.m. Duke, Ken Points, D.A. Huh, John
12:50 p.m. Kirk, Chris Bae, Sang-Moon Sabbatini, Rory
1:00 p.m. Ernst, Derek Perry, Kenny Leonard, Justin
1:10 p.m. Daly, John Wi, Charlie Langley, Scott
1:20 p.m. Claxton, Will Roach, Wes Dugas, Eric
1:30 p.m. Cauley, Bud Gates, Bobby Loar, Edward
1:40 p.m. Collins, Chad Herman, Jim Knox, Russell
1:50 p.m. Williams, Lee Loupe, Andrew Trainer, Martin

First wave off No. 10:

Tee Time Players
12:00 p.m. O'Hair, Sean Perez, Pat Goydos, Paul
12:10 p.m. Chopra, Daniel Herron, Tim Chalmers, Greg
12:20 p.m. MacKenzie, Will Castro, Roberto Hahn, James
12:30 p.m. Beljan, Charlie Potter, Jr., Ted Singh, Vijay
12:40 p.m. English, Harris Walker, Jimmy Howell III, Charles
12:50 p.m. Scott, Adam Dufner, Jason Kuchar, Matt
1:00 p.m. Brown, Scott Gainey, Tommy Na, Kevin
1:10 p.m. Rollins, John Stroud, Chris Bertsch, Shane
1:20 p.m. Hurley III, Billy Lovemark, Jamie Tianlang, Guan
1:30 p.m. Noh, Seung-Yul Svoboda, Andrew Miyazato, Yusaku
1:40 p.m. Anderson, Mark Fritsch, Brad Tanihara, Hideto
1:50 p.m. Carballo, Miguel Angel Foley, Kevin Kawamura, Masahiro

Second wave off No. 1:

Tee Time Players
4:40 p.m. Durant, Joe Senden, John Baird, Briny
4:50 p.m. Kelly, Jerry Hearn, David Kokrak, Jason
5:00 p.m. Barnes, Ricky Stuard, Brian Putnam, Michael
5:10 p.m. Wagner, Johnson Yang, Y.E. Weir, Mike
5:20 p.m. Spieth, Jordan Henley, Russell Streb, Robert
5:30 p.m. Johnson, Zach Choi, K.J. Clark, Tim
5:40 p.m. Wilson, Mark Appleby, Stuart Palmer, Ryan
5:50 p.m. Funk, Fred Lingmerth, David Peterson, John
6:00 p.m. Ishikawa, Ryo Swafford, Hudson Malnati, Peter
6:10 p.m. Kisner, Kevin Martin, Ben Wilcox, Will
6:20 p.m. Renner, Jim Hadley, Chesson Sawada, Jared
6:30 p.m. Lickliter II, Frank Todd, Brendon Muto, Toshinori

Second wave off No. 10:

Tee Time Players
4:40 p.m. Slocum, Heath Tringale, Cameron Compton, Erik
4:50 p.m. Matteson, Troy Van Pelt, Bo Teater, Josh
5:00 p.m. Levin, Spencer Thompson, Nicholas Summerhays, Daniel
5:10 p.m. Austin, Woody Byrd, Jonathan Verplank, Scott
5:20 p.m. Weekley, Boo Gay, Brian Piercy, Scott
5:30 p.m. Thompson, Michael Leishman, Marc Cink, Stewart
5:40 p.m. Maggert, Jeff de Jonge, Brendon Bowditch, Steven
5:50 p.m. Merritt, Troy Gardiner, Scott Tolan, Derek
6:00 p.m. Van Aswegen, Tyrone Tway, Kevin Liu, Yanwei
6:10 p.m. Garnett, Brice La'Cassie, Bronson Nelson, Kirk
6:20 p.m. Prugh, Alex Lee, Danny Kim, Hyung-Sung
6:30 p.m. Aragon, Alex Wilkinson, Tim Ikeda, Yuta

More from SB Nation Golf:

Tiger's $1.3 billion in earnings makes him richest golfer in history

Mickelson passes on Maui, weathers freezing rain of Chargers game

Tiger's winning percentage is untouchable, says Johnny Miller

Sprinkler malfunction interrupts Dufner's round in Maui

Counting down the top 25 stories and moments that defined golf in 2013

Latest News

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.