Karrie Webb dodges another rules breach to win Women’s Aussie Open for 5th time

Scott Barbour

Karrie Webb was a week removed from an embarrassing DQ at the Australian Ladies Masters when a rules official saved her from incurring another penalty at the Women’s Australian Open.

Karrie Webb’s 40th LPGA Tour victory, which came a week after she was disqualified from the Australian Ladies Masters for signing an incorrect scorecard, was not without its own rules brouhaha.

Webb, who defeated Chella Choi by one stroke on Sunday, nearly incurred a two-shot penalty to kick off last week’s Women’s Australian Open. In Thursday’s first round at Victoria Golf Club, before Webb took her first swing of the event, rules official John Hopkins disturbed her pre-shot preparations.

Hopkins, chair of Golf Australia and the rules chief on the 10th tee, which was Webb’s starting point, informed the seven-time majors winner that she had teed up her ball about a dimple in front of the tee markers. While Hopkins prevented Webb from suffering the penalty -- which, as it turned out, would have cost her the victory -- she was not inclined to pardon the interruption.

"How’s that?" Kerr, who reportedly disagreed with Hopkins’ eagle-eyed view of the proceedings, asked after moving her ball back behind the markers, according to multiple news accounts.

After getting the go-ahead from Hopkins, Kerr hit her opening drive and finished the day with a 1-under 71 and the week at 12-under.

The World Golf Hall of Famer went on to win the Aussie Open for the fifth time and regain the confidence to put winning another major on her to-do list.

"If I can do the mental job that I did especially today," Webb told reporters about her chances to earn grand slam triumph No. 8, "I think I did a pretty good job all week and especially the weekend, if I maintain that standard then I think I can."

As for the brouhaha with Hopkins, who may have saved her further embarrassment with his unpopular call on Thursday, Webb addressed that after first-round action.

"John Hopkins thought that my ball was ahead of the tee markers, which no one else in my group did, but as long as he did ...," Webb said. "Yeah, as long as he felt useful, I guess that's a good thing."

More from SB Nation Golf:

WGC Match Play seeds and bracket finalized

Bubba back on top after blistering Riviera run

Augusta National loses famous 17th hole Eisenhower Tree

Auburn fan wins car with full-court putt | #Lookit

Tiger's Masters goal: "Don't finish dead last"

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.