Valspar Championship 2014: Tee times, TV schedule, streaming for Friday's round

Maddie Meyer

The second round of the annual stop at Innisbrook Copperhead (now with more paint cans) tees off before 8 a.m. Friday, but it will be headliner Jordan Spieth highlighting the TV coverage in the afternoon.

The second round of the newly-named Valspar Championship goes off early Friday morning outside Tampa with four players -- Matt Every, Greg Chalmers, Danny Lee, and Pat Perez -- tied for the lead at 3-under. It's not a high number, leaving most of the field well-within striking distance of the first page of the leaderboard before the weekend arrives.

No one was able to run away with a mid-60s round on Thursday thanks to some tough scoring conditions and unexpected cold weather. When the morning wave went out early Thursday, temperatures were in the 40s thanks to a wind out of the north and gusts stayed up around 30 miles per hour throughout the day making it tough to go on a birdie run. It's supposed to be get back above 70 by the afternoon on Friday, but the morning wave will once again need a little extra time to warm up on the harder side of the draw. Three of those four leaders played in the afternoon on Thursday, so they'll have to transition to the colder and tougher conditions for the second round.

Golf Channel will continue their coverage of the Florida swing with their usual three-hour broadcast on Friday. Rich Lerner and Frank Nobilo get the call from the Copperhead Course at Innisbrook starting at 3 p.m. ET. They'll also have the usual simulcast running online through their LiveExtra service. The two marquee groups out in the afternoon during the broadcast will feature the last three winners here (Luke Donald, Gary Woodland, Kevin Streelman) and three top American prospects (Jordan Spieth, Chesson Hadley, Harris English). English and Spieth are solid bets to be on the Ryder Cup team in the fall, and the 20-year old Spieth is now a top draw in every tournament he plays. It was at this event last year that the earned special temporary status that allowed his rookie season to take off in a historic way at 19-years old.

The annual stop in Tampa is in a tough spot on the schedule, sandwiched between three other Florida swing events (Honda, Doral, Bay Hill) that will keep drawing the big names -- and guys who won't play four weeks in a row this time of year. But there's still some world-class players, more than your average Tour stop, and players who will be among the favorites in a month at Augusta.

Your media options for Friday's second round:

Friday's second round coverage


3 to 6 p.m. -- Golf Channel

Online streams:

3 to 6 p.m. -- Golf Channel simulcast stream


1 to 6 p.m. -- PGA Tour Radio on Sirius-XM (Ch. 93/208)

And here's the full tee sheet for the second round at Innisbrook:

Morning wave off No. 1:

Tee Time Players
7:40 a.m. Pat Perez Ricky Barnes James Hahn
7:50 a.m. Padraig Harrington John Daly Brian Stuard
8:00 a.m. Will MacKenzie Jeff Overton John Mallinger
8:10 a.m. Scott Stallings K.J. Choi Vijay Singh
8:20 a.m. Webb Simpson Scott Brown Ernie Els
8:30 a.m. Ted Potter, Jr. David Toms Charley Hoffman
8:40 a.m. Sang-Moon Bae John Merrick Ben Curtis
8:50 a.m. Ken Duke D.A. Points Geoff Ogilvy
9:00 a.m. Ryo Ishikawa Morgan Hoffmann Richard H. Lee
9:10 a.m. Tim Herron Briny Baird Greg Chalmers
9:20 a.m. Billy Hurley III Wes Roach Peter Uihlein
9:30 a.m. Danny Lee Kevin Kisner Max Homa

Morning wave off No. 10:

Tee Time Players
7:40 a.m. Kevin Chappell James Driscoll David Lingmerth
7:50 a.m. Jason Bohn William McGirt Scott Langley
8:00 a.m. Paul Goydos Brendon Todd Nicolas Colsaerts
8:10 a.m. Bill Haas Matt Kuchar Jim Furyk
8:20 a.m. Jason Dufner Justin Rose Brandt Snedeker
8:30 a.m. Tommy Gainey Carl Pettersson Lucas Glover
8:40 a.m. Michael Thompson Darren Clarke Stuart Appleby
8:50 a.m. Derek Ernst Kyle Stanley Jonathan Byrd
9:00 a.m. Bo Van Pelt John Senden Charlie Wi
9:10 a.m. Bryce Molder Freddie Jacobson Luke Guthrie
9:20 a.m. Nicholas Thompson Brendon de Jonge Peter Hanson
9:30 a.m. Jim Renner Matteo Manassero Mark Blakefield

Afternoon wave off No. 1:

Tee Time Players
12:30 p.m. Mark Calcavecchia Jason Gore Thorbjorn Olesen
12:40 p.m. Blake Adams David Hearn D.H. Lee
12:50 p.m. Aaron Baddeley J.B. Holmes Josh Teater
1:00 p.m. Gary Woodland Kevin Streelman Luke Donald
1:10 p.m. Chesson Hadley Harris English Jordan Spieth
1:20 p.m. Rory Sabbatini Davis Love III Robert Allenby
1:30 p.m. J.J. Henry Mark Wilson Angel Cabrera
1:40 p.m. John Huh Johnson Wagner Mike Weir
1:50 p.m. Robert Garrigus Roberto Castro Russell Knox
2:00 p.m. Camilo Villegas Brian Harman Steven Bowditch
2:10 p.m. Stephen Ames Matt Every David Lynn
2:20 p.m. Ben Martin Branden Grace Michael Hebert

Afternoon wave off No. 10:

Tee Time Players
12:30 p.m. Paul Casey Graham DeLaet Spencer Levin
12:40 p.m. Andres Romero Brian Davis John Peterson
12:50 p.m. Jerry Kelly Chad Collins Cameron Tringale
1:00 p.m. Kevin Na Louis Oosthuizen Charles Howell III
1:10 p.m. Jonas Blixt Marc Leishman Justin Leonard
1:20 p.m. Woody Austin Boo Weekley Tim Clark
1:30 p.m. George McNeill Y.E. Yang Retief Goosen
1:40 p.m. Brian Gay Charlie Beljan Stewart Cink
1:50 p.m. Ben Crane Daniel Summerhays Erik Compton
2:00 p.m. Sean O'Hair Martin Flores Michael Putnam
2:10 p.m. John Rollins Jason Kokrak Justin Hicks
2:20 p.m. Eric Axley Brooks Koepka Rod Perry

More from

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.