2014 Shell Houston Open: Tee times, pairings for Friday's round

Scott Halleran

The top of the leaderboard is loaded with big names following the first round. The second round will determine who stays near the top heading into the weekend.

Occurring a week before the Masters, the Shell Houston Open is a bit overlooked by many golf fans who have already turned their focus to Augusta National. The event, however, draws an impressive field and if the first round on Thursday is any indication, the tournament could prove to be one of better events of the young season.

The Shell Houston Open leaderboard through 18 holes looks similar to a who's who of golf. There are several big names, including a few players who are expected to contend for the green jacket next week. Bill Haas and Charley Hoffman are co-leaders heading into the second round. They each sit at 7-under, one stroke better than the rest of the field. Keegan Bradley and Matt Kuchar are one back at 6-under with Sergio Garcia and Charl Schwartzel at 5-under and Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els and Webb Simpson among the players at 4-under.

Players will play in the same pairings on Friday as they did on Thursday. Those groups will be headlined by the trio of Mickelson, Simpson and Bradley. All three played very well in the first round and are expected to be in contention next week. Kuchar will be joined by Henrik Stenson and Jimmy Walker, while Haas will play with Hunter Mahan and Charles Howell III.

Many of the bigger names played in the morning groups on Thursday but will tee off later in the afternoon on Friday. That includes Mickelson's pairing, which will start off No. 1 at 1:40 p.m. ET. Kuchar's group will follow at 1:50 p.m. Television coverage will run from 3 to 6 p.m. on Golf Channel, so viewers should be able see a good portion of the afternoon groups.

Here is the full second-round tee sheet. All times Eastern:

Tee No. 1

Tee time


8:20 AM

Paul Casey

Matt Jones

Justin Hicks

8:30 AM

Trevor Immelman

Jeff Overton

Troy Matteson

8:40 AM

Ben Crane

Roberto Castro

Seung-Yul Noh

8:50 AM

Bill Haas

Hunter Mahan

Charles Howell III

9:00 AM

Kevin Stadler

Ian Poulter

Charl Schwartzel

9:10 AM

Jonas Blixt

John Huh

Scott Gardiner

9:20 AM

D.A. Points

Jhonnattan Vegas

Justin Leonard

9:30 AM

Ted Potter, Jr.

Carl Pettersson

Charley Hoffman

9:40 AM

Sean O'Hair

David Hearn

Richard H. Lee

9:50 AM

Heath Slocum

Jason Gore

David Lingmerth

10:00 AM

Jim Herman

Brice Garnett

Branden Grace

10:10 AM

Bobby Gates

Hudson Swafford

Jon Curran

1:10 PM

Brendan Steele

Jason Kokrak

Scott Langley

1:20 PM

Paul Goydos

Ricky Barnes

Greg Chalmers

1:30 PM

Padraig Harrington

Ryo Ishikawa

Nicolas Colsaerts

1:40 PM

Webb Simpson

Phil Mickelson

Keegan Bradley

1:50 PM

Jimmy Walker

Henrik Stenson

Matt Kuchar

2:00 PM

Jonathan Byrd

Geoff Ogilvy

Angel Cabrera

2:10 PM

Derek Ernst

J.J. Henry

Johnson Wagner

2:20 PM

Charlie Beljan

David Toms

Tim Clark

2:30 PM

J.B. Holmes

Peter Hanson

Chad Collins

2:40 PM

Robert Garrigus

Chris Stroud

Brian Stuard

2:50 PM

Andrew Loupe

Jamie Lovemark

Peter Uihlein

3:00 PM

Michael Putnam

Tyrone Van Aswegen

Matteo Manassero

Tee No. 10

Tee time


8:20 AM

Brendon Todd

Charlie Wi

Cameron Tringale

8:30 AM

Bryce Molder

John Rollins

Nicholas Thompson

8:40 AM

Ryan Palmer

Jeff Maggert

Erik Compton

8:50 AM

Dustin Johnson

Rory McIlroy

Luke Donald

9:00 AM

Jordan Spieth

Sergio Garcia

Steve Stricker

9:10 AM

Tommy Gainey

Darren Clarke

Mike Weir

9:20 AM

Martin Kaymer

Harrison Frazar

Stuart Appleby

9:30 AM

Lee Westwood

Y.E. Yang

Davis Love III

9:40 AM

Stephen Ames

Graham DeLaet

D.H. Lee

9:50 AM

Freddie Jacobson

Luke Guthrie

Martin Flores

10:00 AM

Jim Renner

Ben Martin

Brad Lardon

10:10 AM

Shawn Stefani

John Peterson

Andrew Putnam

1:10 PM

Aaron Baddeley

Bo Van Pelt

Joe Ogilvie

1:20 PM

Brendon de Jonge

Kevin Chappell

Morgan Hoffmann

1:30 PM

Brian Davis

Josh Teater

James Hahn

1:40 PM

Steven Bowditch

Ernie Els

Louis Oosthuizen

1:50 PM

Russell Henley

Scott Stallings

Chris Kirk

2:00 PM

Brian Gay

Kyle Stanley

Stewart Cink

2:10 PM

John Merrick

Lucas Glover

Robert Allenby

2:20 PM

Sang-Moon Bae

Kevin Streelman

Michael Thompson

2:30 PM

Rickie Fowler

Ben Curtis

Retief Goosen

2:40 PM

Camilo Villegas

Andres Romero

Brian Harman

2:50 PM

John Mallinger

James Driscoll

Daniel Summerhays

3:00 PM

Ted Purdy

Kevin Kisner

Bubba Dickerson

More from SBNation.com

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.