2014 Wells Fargo Championship: Tee times, pairings for Friday's round

Streeter Lecka

The second round at Quail Hollow is set to begin with Phil Mickelson, Justin Rose and Rory McIlroy in the hunt.

Following a couple weeks of lackluster tournaments, the PGA Tour could use an entertaining event. If the first round of the Wells Fargo Championship offered any indication, this may just the week at Quail Hollow.

The leaderboard is loaded with notable names after Thursday, including Phil Mickelson, Justin Rose and Rory McIlroy. Two of those three will once again be paired in the second round.

Mickelson and Rose joined Lee Westwood in an afternoon pairing in the first round. Mickelson played well, carding a 5-under 67 to sit in second place while Rose shot a 69 and is tied for seventh. The three will be grouped again on Friday, but this time they'll go off in the morning with an 8 a.m. ET tee time.

They are chasing Angel Cabrera, who jumped into the first-round lead with a 6-under round of 66. He's scheduled to tee off at 12:55 p.m. on Friday, playing with Kyle Stanley and John Merrick. With a strong first round and many of the big names hitting the course in the morning, Cabrera figures to draw quite a bit of media attention when the television coverage begins at 3 p.m. on Golf Channel.

Cabrera, however, won't be the only player worth keeping an eye on in the afternoon wave. McIlroy, who is three back after opening with a round of 69, will headline the featured group of the afternoon. He's set to tee off at 1:25 p.m., once again playing with Rickie Fowler and Jonas Blixt. McIlroy had the best opening round of the three with Blixt shooting a 1-under 71 and Fowler struggling a bit en route to a 2-over 74. The projected cut is 1-over following the first round, so Fowler will have a bit of work to do to ensure he sticks around for the weekend.

Although it's not exactly major-championship caliber, the field at the Wells Fargo Championship is one of the better weekly fields you'll see on the PGA Tour. Of the 15 players tied for seventh place or better through 18 holes, eight of them have won at least one major championship victory. Webb Simpson is just two off the lead at 4-under and he'll play in the group ahead of Mickelson's pairing, with a scheduled tee time of 7:50 a.m. Simpson will be paired with Zach Johnson and Ernie Els. That means five of six players to tee off No. 10 during a 10-minute stretch will be major champions.

The 155-player field will once again go off the first and 10th tees in two waves. Here is a full look at the second round tee sheet. All times Eastern:

Morning wave off No. 1

Tee time


7:00 a.m.

Steve Marino

Richard H. Lee

Michael Putnam

7:10 a.m.

Peter Hanson

Roberto Castro

Jason Kokrak

7:20 a.m.

Ben Crane

Spencer Levin

D.H. Lee

7:30 a.m.

Michael Thompson

Ted Potter, Jr.

Johnson Wagner

7:40 a.m.

Carl Pettersson

Stuart Appleby

Geoff Ogilvy

7:50 a.m.

Scott Stallings

Scott Brown

Jim Furyk

8:00 a.m.

Russell Henley

Chris Kirk

Ryan Moore

8:10 a.m.

Martin Laird

J.J. Henry

Brendan Steele

8:20 a.m.

Andres Romero

Joe Ogilvie

Jeff Overton

8:30 a.m.

Chris Stroud

Justin Hicks

John Peterson

8:40 a.m.

Tim Wilkinson

Kevin Kisner

Jamie Lovemark

8:50 a.m.

Frank Lickliter II

Robert Streb

Rod Perry

9:00 a.m.

Ben Martin

Kevin Tway

Dustin Bray

Morning wave off No. 10

Tee time


7:00 a.m.

Sean O'Hair

Bo Van Pelt

Paul Goydos

7:10 a.m.

Cameron Tringale

Greg Chalmers

David Lingmerth

7:20 a.m.

Will MacKenzie

Martin Flores

Brian Harman

7:30 a.m.

Brian Gay

Tommy Gainey

Rory Sabbatini

7:40 a.m.

Woody Austin

Ben Curtis

George McNeill

7:50 a.m.

Zach Johnson

Webb Simpson

Ernie Els

8:00 a.m.

Phil Mickelson

Justin Rose

Lee Westwood

8:10 a.m.

Derek Ernst

K.J. Choi

Retief Goosen

8:20 a.m.

Padraig Harrington

Trevor Immelman

Thorbjorn Olesen

8:30 a.m.

William McGirt

Nicolas Colsaerts

Brendon de Jonge

8:40 a.m.

Billy Hurley III

Ben Kohles

Harold Varner III

8:50 a.m.

Troy Merritt

Tyrone VanAswegen

Fielding Brewbaker

9:00 a.m.

Andrew Svoboda

Peter Malnati

Kelly Mitchum

Afternoon wave off No. 1

Tee time


12:25 p.m.

Brian Stuard

Gonzalo Fdez-Castano

James Hahn

12:35 p.m.

Stephen Ames

John Rollins

Chad Collins

12:45 p.m.

Ricky Barnes

Josh Teater

Scott Langley

12:55 p.m.

Kevin Streelman

Mark Wilson

Lucas Glover

1:05 p.m.

Martin Kaymer

Jhonattan Vegas

Jonathan Byrd

1:15 p.m.

Seung-Yul Noh

Jimmy Walker

Bill Haas

1:25 p.m.

Jonas Blixt

Rory McIlroy

Rickie Fowler

1:35 p.m.

Darren Clarke

Stewart Cink

Davis Love III

1:45 p.m.

Charlie Wi

Daniel Summerhays

Brendon Todd

1:55 p.m.

Camilo Villegas

J.B. Holmes

Hideki Matsuyama

2:05 p.m.

Morgan Hoffmann

Brian Davis

Danny Lee

2:15 p.m.

Jim Herman

Scott Gardiner

Wes Roach

2:25 p.m.

Bud Cauley

Kevin Foley

Hunter Green

Afternoon wave off No. 10

Tee time


12:25 p.m.

Jason Bohn

James Driscoll

David Hearn

12:35 p.m.

Kevin Chappell

Jim Renner

Shawn Stefani

12:45 p.m.

Heath Slocum

Scott McCarron

Brice Garnett

12:55 p.m.

John Merrick

Kyle Stanley

Angel Cabrera

1:05 p.m.

D.A. Points

Vijay Singh

Mike Weir

1:15 p.m.

Chesson Hadley

Hunter Mahan

Kevin Na

1:25 p.m.

Matt Jones

Gary Woodland

Charles Howell III

1:35 p.m.

Sang-Moon Bae

Charlie Beljan

Robert Allenby

1:45 p.m.

Nick Watney

Harrison Frazar

Y.E. Yang

1:55 p.m.

Jason Gore

Nicholas Thompson

Robert Karlsson

2:05 p.m.

Troy Matteson

Pat Perez

Jamie Donaldson

2:15 p.m.

Hudson Swafford

Lee Williams

2:25 p.m.

Andrew Loupe

Will Wilcox

Bronson La'Cassie

More from SBNation.com

SB Nation Featured Video
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.