British Open tee times 2014: Pairings for Friday's second round

The players will be in the same groups as they were on Thursday, only the tee times have been flipped. That means Phil Mickelson, Adam Scott and others will go off in the morning with Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy among those scheduled for the afternoon.

In theory, the time a player tees off shouldn't have a major impact on his ability to contend in a golf tournament. That is true at some tournaments, but tee times at the British Open can make a major difference in which players might rise or fall on the leaderboard. With players teeing off during a 10-hour span in unpredictable weather, there is certainly a luck of the draw factor in the Open.

In most instances, playing in the morning wave is to a player's advantage. That was the case on Thursday when the course played significantly easier during the morning than it did in the afternoon. A total of 18 players shot 69 or better in the first round and 15 of those played in the morning wave, according to Justin Ray of Golf Channel. That group included first-round leader Rory McIlroy, who took advantage of scoring conditions and carded a 66. Tiger Woods also played in the morning in the first round and carded a 3-under round of 69. Adam Scott, who will begin the second round two strokes off the lead, was one of a few players able to find success playing in the afternoon wave.

Even if the wind or weather conditions don't change dramatically, playing in the afternoon tends to be a bigger challenge because the course firms up and the greens play fast. Whether the afternoon wave is at a disadvantage on Friday remains to be seen. The weather forecast includes a chance of thunderstorms in the morning and again in the late afternoon. Rain and wind could create challenging conditions for those playing in the morning. If things clear up, the afternoon wave might end up playing in better conditions and on a soft golf course from rain. The weather could also cause a delay.

The players will be in the same groups as they were on Thursday. Defending British Open champion Phil Mickelson will play in one of the featured groups of the morning. He is scheduled to tee off at 4:04 a.m. ET, playing with Ernie Els and Bubba Watson. Scott will go off two groups after Mickelson, playing with Justin Rose and Jason Dufner. ESPN's television coverage will begin at 4 a.m. with a featured group stream featuring MIckelson's trio available from ESPN3.

Woods got off to a slow start in the first round, beginning his tournament with back-to-back bogeys. He rebounded well and carded a 33 on the back nine to move into the top 10. He will be in the ESPN3 afternoon featured group, playing with Henrik Stenson and Angel Cabrera. The three are set to tee off at 9:05 a.m. Between the television coverage and live stream, viewers will be able to watch every shot Woods hits as it happens. McIlroy will wake up in the lead, but he may not be in the lead by the time he tees off at 9:27 a.m.

In addition to an 11-hour television broadcast, ESPN3 will provide multiple live streams. There will be two featured group streams, an international feed and a featured holes stream that will focus on holes Nos. 13, 14 and 15. Some players will tee off before coverage begins and a few players may not finish their round until after it is over, viewers will be able to see nearly every key shot as it happens.

Here is a complete look at the second-round tee sheet. All times Eastern.

Tee time


1:25 AM

Hiroshi Iwata

Jamie McLeary

Matthew Southgate

1:36 AM

Roberto Castro

Tyrrell Hatton

Victor Riu

1:47 AM

Dong-Kyu Jang

Shawn Stefani

Nick Watney

1:58 AM

D.A. Points

Brendan Steele

Y.E. Yang

2:09 AM

Pablo Larrazabal

Bryden MacPherson

Scott Stallings

2:20 AM

George Coetzee

Michael Hoey

Charley Hoffman

2:31 AM

Kevin Streelman

Brendon Todd

Brendon de Jonge

2:42 AM

Sandy Lyle

Kevin Stadler

Gary Woodland

2:53 AM

Graham DeLaet

Cheng-Tsung Pan

Brandt Snedeker

3:04 AM

Boo Weekley

Danny Willett

A Shun Wu

3:15 AM

Jonas Blixt

J.B. Holmes

Chris Kirk

3:26 AM

Bill Haas

Thongchai Jaidee

Miguel Angel Jimenez

3:37 AM

Jason Day

Zach Johnson

Martin Kaymer

3:53 AM

Jamie Donaldson

Yusaku Miyazato

Webb Simpson

4:04 AM

Ernie Els

Phil Mickelson

Bubba Watson

4:15 AM

Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano

Russell Henley

Billy Horschel

4:26 AM

Jason Dufner

Justin Rose

Adam Scott

4:37 AM

Keegan Bradley

Ryo Ishikawa

Lee Westwood

4:48 AM

Joost Luiten

Kevin Na

John Senden

4:59 AM

John Daly

Ross Fisher

Tommy Fleetwood

5:10 AM

Rafael Cabrera-Bello

Paul Dunne

Mark Wiebe

5:21 AM

Oliver Fisher

Chesson Hadley

Shane Lowry

5:32 AM

George McNeill

Richard Sterne

Chris Stroud

5:43 AM

Matthew Baldwin

Gregory Bourdy

Yeon-jin Jeong

5:54 AM

Rhys Enoch

Billy Hurley III

Justin Walters

6:05 AM

Byeong-Hun An

Scott Jamieson

Chris Rodgers

6:26 AM

David Duval

David Howell

Robert Karlsson

6:37 AM

Masanori Kobayashi

Cameron Tringale

Dawie Van Der Walt

6:48 AM

Matt Jones

Bernd Wiesberger

Chris Wood

6:59 AM

Erik Compton

Hyung-Sung Kim

Marc Leishman

7:10 AM

Anirban Lahiri

Ben Martin

Koumei Oda

7:21 AM

Kiradech Aphibarnrat

Brooks Koepka

Edoardo Molinari

7:32 AM

Ashley Chesters

Branden Grace

Fredrik Jacobson

7:43 AM

Ben Curtis

Paul Lawrie

Justin Leonard

7:54 AM

Francesco Molinari

Ryan Moore

Thorbjorn Olesen

8:05 AM

Mikko Ilonen

Matteo Manassero

Bradley Neil

8:16 AM

Thomas Bjorn

Stewart Cink

Patrick Reed

8:27 AM

Darren Clarke

Jim Furyk

Tom Watson

8:38 AM

Luke Donald

Rickie Fowler

Sergio Garcia

8:54 AM

Paul Casey

Harris English

Matt Every

9:05 AM

Angel Cabrera

Henrik Stenson

Tiger Woods

9:16 AM

K.J. Choi

Padraig Harrington

Charl Schwartzel

9:27 AM

Hideki Matsuyama

Rory McIlroy

Jordan Spieth

9:38 AM

Dustin Johnson

Ian Poulter

Jimmy Walker

9:49 AM

Matt Kuchar

Graeme McDowell

Louis Oosthuizen

10:00 AM

Victor Dubuisson

Stephen Gallacher

Hunter Mahan

10:11 AM

Nick Faldo

Todd Hamilton

David Hearn

10:22 AM

Tomohiro Kondo

Ryan Palmer

Brett Rumford

10:33 AM

John Singleton

Peter Uihlein

Marc Warren

10:44 AM

Kristoffer Broberg

Paul McKechnie

Juvic Pagunsan

10:55 AM

Rhein Gibson

Brian Harman

Hyung-Tae Kim

11:06 AM

Oscar Floren

Chris Hanson

Yoshinobu Tsukada

More from

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.