2014 British Open Championship field: Final qualifiers nearly set for Hoylake

With the start of the 2014 British Open less than two weeks away, the 156-player field is nearly set with just 13 open spots up for grabs.

The third major championship of the year is on the horizon with the 2014 British Open now less than two weeks away. The 156-player field is almost full, but an additional 13 players will be given the chance to compete for the Claret Jug. Like the U.S. Open, the Open Championship welcomes a wide and diverse field with players from all over the world earning their way into the event.

The top players in the world didn't need to do much additional work to earn their bids to Royal Liverpool. The top 50 players in the Official World Golf Rankings are given automatic entry. The same is true for the top finishers of the postseasons on both sides of the Atlantic -- the European Tour's Race to Dubai and the PGA Tour's FedExCup from the previous year.

Essentially, if a player played good golf in the prior year, he is locked into a bid for the Open. While the U.S. Open gives automatic entry to the previous champions of the last 10 years, previous champions of the British Open who are 60 or younger are automatically qualified should they choose to play. So while John Daly won the Open Championship nearly 20 years ago and hasn't played well enough to qualify otherwise, he'll be back in the field after sitting out last year due to an elbow injury.

In all, there are nearly 30 ways to qualify for the Open, including local qualifying. A dozen players played their way into the field through local qualifying with many more earning bids through international qualifying. The final 13 spots will be handed out based on the results from the PGA Tour and European Tour. Players who finish in the top 12 of the Greenbrier Classic, French Open, John Deere Classic and Scottish Open could receive bids. A total of 11 bids will be given in those four events with at least two alternates to be added. Those bids will be awarded as part of the new Open Championship Qualifying Series. Instead of the traditional 36-hole qualifiers, players gain entry by performing in PGA Tour and European Tour events.

Here is a complete look at the 143 qualified players and how they gained entry. Many players are exempt in multiple ways, but this list includes just the first method in which they gained entry into the field.

2014 Open Championship field

Previous champions 60 or younger

Phil Mickelson

Ernie Els

Darren Clarke

Louis Oosthuizen

Stewart Cink

Padraig Harrington

Tiger Woods

Todd Hamilton

Ben Curtis

David Duval

Paul Lawrie

Mark O'Meara

Justin Leonard

John Daly

Nick Faldo

Mark Calcavecchia

Sandy Lyle

Previous champions with a top 10 finish since 2009

Tom Watson

Top 10 and ties from 2013 Open

Henrik Stenson

Ian Poulter

Adam Scott

Lee Westwood

Zach Johnson

Hideki Matsuyama

Hunter Mahan

Francesco Molinari

Top 50 of the OWGR on May 26

Matt Kuchar

Bubba Watson

Rory McIlroy

Jason Day

Sergio Garcia

Justin Rose

Jordan Spieth

Jim Furyk

Dustin Johnson

Jason Dufner

Luke Donald

Jimmy Walker

Graeme McDowell

Charl Schwartzel

Thomas Bjorn

Keegan Bradley

Victor Dubuisson

Patrick Reed

Miguel Angel Jimenez

Martin Kaymer

Jamie Donaldson

Brandt Snedeker

Graham DeLaet

Webb Simpson

Bill Haas

Jonas Blixt

Stephen Gallacher

Rickie Fowler

Ryan Moore

Gary Woodland

Harris English

Joost Luiten

Matt Jones

John Senden

Russell Henley

Chris Kirk

Matt Every

Ryan Palmer

Top 30 in the 2013 Race to Dubai

Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano

Richard Sterne

Thongchai Jaidee

Matteo Manassero

Peter Uihlein

Brett Rumford

Branden Grace

David Howell

Mikko Ilonen

Gregory Bourdy

Tommy Fleetwood

Bernd Wiesberger

Chris Wood

Paul Casey

Non-qualified players in the top 20 of the Race to Dubai on June 30 (up to five)

Pablo Larrazabal

Shane Lowry

George Coetzee

Rafa Cabrera-Bello

PGA Champions since 2009 (Masters, U.S. Open winners from last 5 years already exempt above)

Y.E. Yang

Final 30 Qualifers for FedExCup's 2013 TOUR Championship

Nick Watney

Billy Horschel

Roberto Castro

Kevin Streelman

Brendon de Jonge

Boo Weekley

D.A. Points

Non-qualified players in the top 20 of the FedExCup on June 23 (up to five)

Brendon Todd

Kevin Na

Members of the 2013 Presidents Cup teams

Angel Cabrera

Marc Leishman

2013 winner of the Asian Tour Order of Merit

Kiradech Aphibarnrat

2013 winner of the Sunshine Tour Order of Merit

Dawie van der Walt

2013 Japan Open winner

Masanori Kobayashi

Top non-qualified players from the 2013 Japan Golf Tour money list (up to two)

Hyung-Sung Kim

Non-qualified players from 2014 Japan Golf Tour money list on June 23 (up to two)

Koumei Oda

Yusaku Miyazato

British Senior Open winner

Mark Wiebe

British Amateur winner

Bradley Neil (a)

European Amateur winner

Ashley Chesters (a)

Local Qualifying

Matthew Southgate

Chris Rodgers

An Byeong-Hun

Marc Warren

Jamie McLeary

Paul McKechnie

Paul Dunne (a)

Oliver Fisher

Rhys Enoch

John Singleton

Christopher Hanson

Oscar Floren

Non-qualified players ranked highest in OWGR (up to 10)

Kevin Stadler

J.B. Holmes

K.J. Choi

Erik Compton

Charles Howell III

Brooks Koepka

Chesson Hadley

Freddie Jacobson

Anirban Lahiri

Scott Stallings

International Final Qualifying - Australia

Bryden Macpherson

Rhein Gibson

International Final Qualifying - Africa

Jin Jeong

Justin Walters

International Final Qualifying - Thailand

Hiroshi Iwata

Cheng-Tsung Pan (a)

Ashun Wu

Yoshinobu Tsukada

International Final Qualifying - Japan

Dong-Kyu Jang

Juvic Pagunsan

Hyung-Tae Kim

Tomohiro Kondo

International Final Qualifying - Quicken Loans National

Shawn Stefani

Charley Hoffman

Ben Martin

Brendan Steele

International Final Qualifying - Irish Open

Matthew Baldwin

Danny Willet

Edoardo Molinari

International Final Qualifying - Greenbrier Classic

Billy Hurley III

George McNeill

Chris Stroud

Cameron Tringale

International Final Qualifying - French Open

Michael Hoey

Robert Karlsson

Victor Riu

International Final Qualifying - John Deere Classic


International Final Qualifying - Scottish Open







More from SBNation.com

Latest News

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.