Dual in Detroit 2013: Dario Franchitti scores pole for first race but will start11th

Chris Trotman

Dario Franchitti won the pole for Detroit Dual race No. 1 on Friday afternoon but will have to start from 11th on Saturday due to an engine penalty. EJ Viso qualified second and will start first for Saturday's race.

Dario Franchitti captured the pole for Detroit Dual race No. 1 but will have to rally from 11th on Saturday afternoon as a result of a 10-spot grid penalty due to an engine change prior to the Indianapolis 500.

Franchitti earned his 31st-career Indy car pole on Friday afternoon, setting the bar in the Firestone Fast Six with a lap time of 1 minute, 19.331 seconds around 13-turn temporary street course, during the 10-minute final session.

Franchitti had believed himself an unlikely choice to set fast time and was slowest in a Friday practice session that was marred by changing weather conditions, so he's thrilled with the result.

"I think I was a longshot to get through Q1; I did four laps in practice this morning," Franchitti said. "It was interesting obviously with the rain in the first session, getting through in that, and then the drying track and fully drive in the end, so we had all the conditions there.

"I have to thank the engineering group. We had a really tough Indianapolis and to back with a pole is great, obviously with a 10-spot grid penalty. I'll do the best from where we start."

The pole was Franchitti's second of the season and tied Sebastien Bourdais for seventh all-time. They are both one behind Michael Andretti. Friday's pole was also Franchitt's first in seven attempts at Belle Isle.

EJ Viso was second (1:19.557) for Andretti Autosport, tying his best-career qualifying effort from last month in Brazil. As a result of the Franchitti penalty, Viso will assume the first starting spot for Saturday's race. Joining him on the front row will be road course ace Mike Conway, driving for Dale Coyne Racing in just his second start of the season.

James Jakes, Ryan Hunter-Reay and Alex Tagliani completed the Firestone Fast Six.

The complete starting lineup for race No. 1 can be found below.

  1. E.J. Viso
  2. Mike Conway
  3. James Jakes
  4. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  5. Alex Tagliani
  6. Tristan Vautier
  7. Takuma Sato
  8. Simon Pagenaud
  9. Will Power
  10. Sebastian Saavedra
  11. Dario Franchitti
  12. Helio Castroneves
  13. AJ Allmendinger
  14. Sebastien Bourdais
  15. Scott Dixon
  16. Justin Wilson
  17. Simona De Silvestro
  18. Marco Andretti
  19. Tony Kanaan
  20. James Hinchcliffe
  21. Ryan Briscoe
  22. Ed Carpenter
  23. Graham Rahal
  24. Josef Newgarden
  25. Charlie Kimball

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.