Scott Dixon scores pole for Honda Indy Toronto Race No. 2, Target Ganassi sweeps front row

Chris Trotman

Teammates Scott Dixon and Dario Franchitti will start on the front row of Sunday's IndyCar Series race in Toronto. The race utilize a standing start after Saturday's attempt was aborted.

Scott Dixon will start on the pole for race No. 2 of the Honda Indy Toronto on Sunday afternoon (2 p.m. ET, NBC Sports Network), one day after winning his second-consecutive IndyCar Series race on Saturday at Exhibition Place.

The pole starting position actually comes as a result of his turning the fastest lap in the qualifying session that preceded Race No. 1, which had set the grid for Sunday's race.

Qualifying for the Saturday race was held on Friday and that pole was won by Dario Franchitti.

Dixon won his pole after turning a fast lap of 58.969 seconds in the second group to defeat Franchitti's best time of 59.191 seconds in group one. The results place both Target Chip Ganassi Racing cars on the front row at the start of Sunday's race, just one day after they finished first and third respectively in the Saturday opener.

"The lap just came together," Dixon said. "I left a little on the table yesterday and the guys put in some work on the car last night, making a few adjustments, and it's definitely has the speed. It's been a little while since we've been on pole for a road or street course so we're definitely very happy about it."

It was Dixon's first pole since Belle Isle in 2012 and the first front row sweep for Team Ganassi since taking the first two spots in Oct. 2010 at Homestead-Miami Speedway.

Under the doubleheader qualifying format for Race No. 2, the remainder of the cars from the pole sitter's qualifying group will occupy the odd-numbered positions on the starting grid, ranked by lap time, beginning with third. Even-numbered starting positions will be filled by the other group, ranked by lap time, starting with second.

Championship points leader Helio Castroneves and reigning series champion Ryan Hunter-Reay will make up the second row. Will Power and Tony Kanaan will start on row 3. Both races pay full championship points to the competitors.

The complete results of Saturday's qualifying session can be found below. A starting lineup will be released before the race and this page will update as soon as possible.

  1. Scott Dixon
  2. Dario Franchitti
  3. Helio Castroneves
  4. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  5. Will Power
  6. Tony Kanaan
  7. Sebastien Bourdais
  8. Ryan Briscoe (Will not start race due to injury)
  9. Alex Tagliani
  10. Simona De Silvestro
  11. EJ Viso
  12. James Hinchcliffe
  13. Simon Pagenaud
  14. Justin Wilson
  15. Takuma Sato
  16. Charlie Kimball
  17. Tristan Vautier
  18. Marco Andretti
  19. Josef Newgarden
  20. Graham Rahal
  21. James Jakes
  22. Sebastian Saavedra
  23. Ed Carpenter
  24. Mike Conway

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.