Scott Dixon sweeps Toronto doubleheader

Chris Trotman

Scott Dixon was dominant in Race No. 2 of the Honda Indy Toronto -- from the first standing start in IZOD IndyCar Series history to complete a clean sweep of both races held on the streets of downtown.

Scott Dixon dominated Race No. 2 of the Honda Indy Toronto from the pole and scored his third-consecutive victory in the IZOD IndyCar Series on Sunday on the street circuit at Exhibition Place.

As a result of sweeping both races in the doubleheader, Dixon earned an additional $100,000 bonus from the SONAX Perfect Finish Award.

The victory also places him securely in championship contention, just 29 points behind Helio Castroneves who finished second on Sunday. Sebastien Bourdais finished third to complete his second podium in as many days but the story all weekend was Dixon.

"It's been a long time since I've had such a dominant day," said Dixon, who led 81 of the 85 laps. "I'm just happy for the team."

Over the course of seven days, Dixon has won three times and jumped from fifth in the standings to second with just six races remaining.

Castroneves entered the race with a 39-point cushion over Ryan Hunter-Reay but has to worry about Dixon now with the defending champion's struggles over the past few weekends. While Hunter-Reay has fallen to 69 points back, it's Dixon that has all the momentum and has been the best statistical performer at Mid-Ohio in recent years -- the site of the next IndyCar race on August 4.

Dixon has won the previous two races held at the Lexington, Ohio road course.

Dario Franchitti started on the outside pole and recovered from a first-lap accident to finish fourth while EJ Viso surged from a 10th-place start to complete the top-five.

The standing start that was promised for Saturday but aborted due to a stalled car was rescheduled for the Sunday race and went off without error. Ed Carpenter stalled at the start of the race but got going before the field came back around.

The complete results of race No. 2 of the Toronto doubleheader can be found below.

  1. Scott Dixon
  2. Helio Castroneves
  3. Sebastien Bourdais
  4. Dario Franchitti
  5. E.J. Viso
  6. Charlie Kimball
  7. Mike Conway
  8. Justin Wilson
  9. Marco Andretti
  10. Alex Tagliani
  11. Josef Newgarden
  12. Simon Pagenaud
  13. Graham Rahal
  14. Simona De Silvestro
  15. Sebastian Saavedra
  16. Tristan Vautier
  17. Carlos Munoz
  18. Will Power
  19. Ryan Hunter-Reay
  20. Takuma Sato
  21. James Hinchcliffe
  22. Ed Carpenter
  23. James Jakes
  24. Tony Kanaan

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.