Now, this bunt attempt by Jonathan Villar clearly didn't work out:
And in GIF form, via BuzzFeed:
We ask, though: What if he'd make contact? A cursory look at the MLB rulebook reveals nothing that forbids throwing the bat at the ball. You can't throw the bat into play in a way that interferes with fielding, so let's say, hypothetically, that Villar's thrown bat made contact, sent the ball into play, then dropped straight down or otherwise out of fair territory. Would that be a fair ball? Have you ever seen anything like that? Help us out!