SAN FRANCISCO - OCTOBER 21: Roy Halladay #34 of the Philadelphia Phillies pitches in the first inning against the San Francisco Giants in Game Five of the NLCS during the 2010 MLB Playoffs at AT&T Park on October 21 2010 in San Francisco California. (Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Roy Halladay

Roy Halladay The Unanimous Pick As NL Cy Young

In what comes as little surprise, Roy Halladay picked up all 32 first-place votes in winning the Cy Young Award for the second time in his career, and for the first time in the NL.

  • Live
5 Total Updates since November 16, 2010
  • Important 1
  • Updates 5
  • All Updates 5

2010 N.L. Cy Young Award Winner Roy Halladay A Unanimous Pick

The results of the voting for the 2010 National League Cy Young Award are in, and, in what comes as little surprise, the winner is none other than Philadelphia Phillies ace Roy Halladay.

Halladay received all 32 first-place votes, making him the unanimous choice for the 13th time in NL history. St. Louis' Adam Wainwright finished with 28 of 32 second-place votes, while Florida's ERA leader Josh Johnson topped out with five third-place votes. The remainder of the second-place votes went to Colorado's Ubaldo Jimenez.

The reasoning behind the Halladay pick is clear. Halladay led the National League in innings, with 250.2. In second place was Chris Carpenter, with 235. It's because of this innings lead that Halladay's able to make up for the fact that he didn't lead the league in ERA. At 2.44, Halladay finished behind Johnson (2.30) and Wainwright (2.42), but he threw a good deal more innings than both of them, more than canceling out their advantage.

It's also worth noting that Halladay spent half his games in a hitter-friendly ballpark, whereas Johnson spent half his games in a pitcher-friendly ballpark, and Wainwright spent half his in a fairly neutral environment. Additionally, Halladay won a league-leading 21 games.

It's the second Cy Young of Halladay's career, as he also won in 2003 with the Blue Jays. He came in second with the Jays in 2008.

The last Phillies pitcher to win the Cy Young was Steve Bedrosian in 1987.

The complete  voting results are shown below, courtesy of the BBWAA:

1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th Points
Roy Halladay, Philadelphia Phillies 32 224
Adam Wainwright, St. Louis Cardinals 28 3 1 122
Ubaldo Jimenez, Colorado Rockies 4 19 8 1 90
Tim Hudson, Atlanta Braves 3 13 4 39
Josh Johnson, Florida Marlins 5 5 9 34
Roy Oswalt, Houston Astros/Philadelphia Phillies 1 3 5 14
Brian Wilson, San Francisco Giants 1 5 7
Heath Bell, San Diego Padres 1 1 4
Mat Latos, San Diego Padres 1 2 4
Brett Myers, Houston Astros 1 2
Tim Lincecum, San Francisco Giants 2 2
Bronson Arroyo, Cincinnati Reds 1 1
Matt Cain, San Francisco Giants 1 1
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.