Derek Jeter headlines 2014 AL All-Star Roster

Bruce Kluckhohn-USA TODAY Sports

The Captain will say goodbye to the Midsummer Classic in Minnesota.

Headlined by a retiring legend at shortstop, a fan favorite four-time starter in the outfield and multiple A's for the first time since the Bash Brothers, the AL All-Star Game lineup strikes a balance between tradition and progress as a batch of new All-Stars mix perfectly alongside veterans of the Midsummer Classic.

Toronto's Jose Bautista and Mike Trout of the Angels led all AL balloting, with more than 11.4 million votes between the two of them. It marks the second straight start for Mike Trout and the fourth straight for Bautista, who joins 10 other outfielders in AL history to start four consecutive All-Star Games.

The 2014 MLB All-Star Game will be played on Tuesday, July 15 at Target Field in Minnesota and will be televised by Fox. The Red Sox's John Farrell is the manager of the AL squad.

Bautista and Trout will be joined by the Orioles' Adam Jones in the starting lineup. Oakland's Josh Donaldson will start the game at third base, marking his first appearance in the Midsummer Classic despite the fact that he finished fourth in AL MVP balloting last year.

Derek Jeter was not elected as the starting shortstop in the 2000 All-Star Game -- Alex Rodriguez, then with the Mariners, was voted in -- instead making the squad, along with Mike Bordick and Nomar Garciaparra, as a reserve shortstop. But an injury to Rodriquez put Jeter in the starting lineup and he was named as the game's MVP for the first, and as of now, only time in his career. This year with 3,928,422 votes, fans chose Jeter as the AL starting shortstop for the ninth time. It will be his 14th and final All-Star appearance. He is the seventh player in AL history to earn at least nine fan elections, along with Cal Ripken, Jr., George Brett, Rod Carew, Ken Griffey, Jr., Ichiro Suzuki and Ivan Rodriguez.

Jeter's former teammate Robinson Cano, now with Seattle, was elected as the AL's starting second baseman for the fifth consecutive year. Cano joins Rod Carew and Roberto Alomar as one of only three AL second basemen to garner such a distinction and is only the second fan-elected starting second baseman in Mariners history, along with Bret Boone

Rounding out the AL infield is first baseman Miguel Cabrera, who handily beat White Sox rookie Jose Abreu in the balloting despite Abreu's majors-leading 27 home runs, joining former teammate Prince Fielder as the only fan-elected starting first basemen in Tigers history.  

With the Tigers, A's, Yankees and Mariners sending starters to the AL infield, for the first time since 2003 -- and the 19th time overall since fan balloting began in 1970 -- every elected starting infielder will come from a different team. 

Topping off the starting lineup for the AL will be designated hitter Nelson Cruz, who easily beat nine-time All-Star David Ortiz in fan balloting after the latter's three-year run as the fan's elected starter. Now a three-time All-Star, first-time elected starter Cruz is tied with Abreu in the home run race and is just the fifth different fan-elected starter at the position, along with Edgar Martinez, Jose Canseco, Ortiz and Vladimir Guerrero.

AL All-Star roster

*denotes starter

CatchersSalvador Perez*, Matt Wieters (elected a starter by vote, on disabled list), Derek NorrisKurt Suzuki

Infielders: 1B Miguel Cabrera*, 2B Robinson Cano*, 3B Josh Donaldson*, SS Derek Jeter*, DH Nelson Cruz*, 1B Jose Abreu, 1B Brandon Moss, DH Victor Martinez (replaced by 2B Ian Kinsler), DH Edwin Encarnacion (replaced by 3B Kyle Seager), 2B Jose Altuve, 3B Adrian Beltre, SS Alexei Ramirez

Outfielders: Jose Bautista*, Mike Trout*, Adam Jones*, Yoenis CespedesAlex Gordon (replaced by SS Erick Aybar), Michael Brantley

Starting pitchersYu DarvishMax ScherzerFelix HernandezDavid Price (replaced by Fernando Rodney), Mark BuehrleScott KazmirMasahiro Tanaka (replaced by Koji Uehara), Jon Lester

Relief pitchersSean DoolittleGlen PerkinsGreg HollandDellin Betances

More from

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.