November NASCAR Twitter Rankings: Where Have All The New Followers Gone?

PHOENIX - APRIL 10: Juan Pablo Montoya, driver of the #42 Target Chevrolet, looks before the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series SUBWAY Fresh Fit 600 at Phoenix International Raceway on April 10, 2010 in Phoenix, Arizona. (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

If you feel like it's been quieter on Twitter lately for NASCAR fans, you may not be wrong.

After skipping last month's Twitter rankings because the numbers of new followers for NASCAR-related tweeters were too low, we're back with totals from the last two months.

But we noticed something funny while looking closely at the stats: Many of the people on this list had totals over a two-month period that they normally would have only achieved in one month's time.

Throughout the NASCAR industry, drivers and others in the garage are being followed at a slower rate than earlier in the year.

To wit: In August, there were 58 NASCAR tweeters who had at least 200 new followers; over the last two months, only 40 averaged that number.

It's affected the top names, too.

Look at Kevin Harvick, for example: Harvick, the top American NASCAR-only driver in overall followers (50,218), added 2,568 followers in July alone, then picked up another 2,511 in August.

But over the last two months combined, he added just 2,299 – this despite being in the thick of the championship chase.

What gives? Has Twitter as a whole gotten quieter, or is this a NASCAR-related trend? It's tough to say. But we hope fans and followers get re-engaged again next year.

As a reminder, here's the criteria for this list: Any current driver or team owner, their wives or significant others, crew chiefs, spotters, engineers and other family members. At this time, media and public relations accounts (including tracks, sponsors, teams and drivers who don't tweet for themselves) are not eligible.

The November NASCAR Twitter Rankings Top 35:

1 (1st last month). Juan Pablo Montoya (@jpmontoya): 24,680

2 (2). Danica Patrick (@danicapatrick): 23,862

3 (3). Narain Karthikeyan (@narainracing): 4,300

4 (8). Ricky Carmichael (@rickycarmichael): 3,218

5 (6). Kasey Kahne (@kaseykahne): 2,979

6 (5). Kyle Busch (@kylebusch): 2,424

7 (7). Denny Hamlin (@dennyhamlin): 2,381

8 (4). Kevin Harvick (@kevinharvick): 2,299

9 (9). Jamie McMurray (@jamiemcmurray): 1,533

10 (10). DeLana Harvick (@delanaharvick): 1,515

11 (11). Elliott Sadler (@elliott_sadler): 1,488

12 (12). Connie Montoya (@conniemontoya): 1,427

13 (13). Martin Truex Jr. (@martintruexjr56): 1,415

14 (14). Michael Waltrip (@mw55): 1,403

15 (27). AJ Allmendinger (@ajdinger): 1,297

16 (19). Greg Biffle (@gbiffle): 1,237

17 (16). Scott Speed (@scottspeed): 1,237

18 (18). Brian Vickers (@brianlvickers): 1,123

19 (17). Brad Keselowski (@keselowski): 1,071

20 (23). Bobby Labonte (@bobby_labonte): 1,008

21 (24). Aric Almirola (@aric_almirola): 982

22 (15). Max Papis (@maxpapis): 966

T23 (20). Krissie Newman (@krissienewman): 802

T23 (26). Robby Gordon (@robbygordon): 801

25 (21). Samantha Sarcinella (@samsarcinella): 757

26 (31). Justin Allgaier (@j_allgaier12): 751

27 (33). Ron Hornaday (@ronhornaday): 652

28 (NR). David Reutimann (@davidreutimann): 642

29 (NR). Hermie Sadler (@hermiesadler): 636

30 (30). Trevor Bayne (@tbayne99): 616

31 (34). David Ragan (@david_ragan): 588

32 (NR). Shane Wilson (@cupcrewchief): 574

33 (NR). Brian Scott (@bscottracing): 542

34 (NR). Ryan Truex (@rtruex00): 526

35 (32). Amanda Speed (@amanda_speed): 502

Honorable mention (others with at least 400 new followers): Kenny Wallace 496, Max Siegel 477, Brendan Gaughan 466, JJ Yeley 425, Brett Griffin 424.

Dropped out of top 35: Kenny Wallace (22), Brett Griffin (25), Nelson Piquet Jr. (28), JJ Yeley (29), Sherry Pollex (35).

Top 10 Overall NASCAR tweeters:

  1. Danica Patrick (240,040)
  2. Juan Pablo Montoya (224,128)
  3. Nelson Piquet Jr. (126,159)
  4. Kevin Harvick (50,218)
  5. Kasey Kahne (45,072)
  6. Michael Waltrip (45,034)
  7. Denny Hamlin (38,897)
  8. Narain Karthikeyan (35,014)
  9. Elliott Sadler (34,275)
  10. Kyle Busch (33,980)
X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Join SBNation.com

You must be a member of SBNation.com to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SBNation.com. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.