Daytona 500 Results: How Much Money Did Trevor Bayne, Other Drivers Win?

Somewhat overlooked in the great story of Trevor Bayne's upset Daytona 500 victory on Sunday was that the 20-year-old is now rich.

Well, richer than you or I, at least. Ca-CHING! 

The Daytona 500 purse was nearly $18.7 million, and the winner took home a healthy $1.46 million of that. Of course, drivers don't get to keep 100 percent of their winnings – typically, they are awarded somewhere between 30 and 50 percent of the prize money in addition to their base salary, with the team keeping the rest.

Bayne is a rookie, so he probably wasn't in position to negotiate for anywhere close to 50 percent of the prize money. But even assuming he got one-third of it, that's still more than $480,000.

Not bad for a dude who began the weekend as a teenager.

Last-place JJ Yeley, who was only in the race for 10 laps before his motor blew, earned $268,550.

Anyway, here's how Bayne and the other NASCAR Sprint Cup Series drivers divided up the Daytona 500's $18.7 million purse:


  1. Trevor Bayne: $1,462,563
  2. Carl Edwards: $1,081,413
  3. David Gilliland: $831,061
  4. Bobby Labonte: $667,769
  5. Kurt Busch: $582,077
  6. Juan Pablo Montoya: $454,064
  7. Regan Smith: $414,328
  8. Kyle Busch: $393,314
  9. Paul Menard: $327,413
  10. Mark Martin: $318,413
  11. AJ Allmendinger: $309,463
  12. Bill Elliott: $324,978
  13. Tony Stewart: $305,863
  14. David Ragan: $350,188
  15. Terry Labonte: $334,263
  16. Robby Gordon: $313,211
  17. Clint Bowyer: $315,813
  18. Jamie McMurray: $335,003
  19. Martin Truex Jr.: $341,963
  20. Steve Wallace: $291,638
  21. Denny Hamlin: $300,538
  22. Ryan Newman: $297,013
  23. Joey Logano: $290,363
  24. Dale Earnhardt Jr.: $350,813
  25. Kasey Kahne: $311,719
  26. Dave Blaney: $304,736
  27. Jimmie Johnson: $300,713
  28. Jeff Gordon: $287,588
  29. Brad Keselowski: $310,742
  30. David Reutimann: $318,219
  31. Brian Vickers: $313,861
  32. Travis Kvapil: $304,242
  33. Andy Lally: $282,863
  34. Matt Kenseth: $320,668
  35. Greg Biffle: $289,713
  36. Jeff Burton: $311,451
  37. Marcos Ambrose: $312,414
  38. Robert Richardson Jr.: $270,313
  39. Joe Nemechek: $292,998
  40. Michael Waltrip: $282,113
  41. Brian Keselowski: $273,663
  42. Kevin Harvick: $300,013
  43. JJ Yeley: $268,550

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.