NASCAR At Bristol Motor Speedway: Start Time, Lineup, TV Listings And More

It's NASCAR race day at Bristol Motor Speedway, and we've got the actual race start time, the starting lineup and some other facts for you below.

Race name: Today's race at Bristol Motor Speedway is called the "Jeff Byrd 500" in honor of the track's longtime president, who died last fall. Traditional sponsor Food City is giving up its name for the race in order to honor Byrd.

Start time: The command to start engines will be given by Byrd's family members (wife Claudia and children Christian and Belton) at 1:07 p.m. Eastern time. The actual start time of the race is scheduled for 1:13 p.m. EDT. So if you want to skip all the pre-race stuff and just tune in for the race, turn on your TV at 1:13.

TV and radio: As for all of the races through May, FOX is televising the race. The radio broadcast can be found on your local Performance Racing Network (PRN) affiliate. Click here to see a list of PRN stations where you can listen.

National anthem: Country star Billy Ray Cyrus will sing the national anthem. He's also doing an off-camera performance of his military tribute song "Some Gave All." In an unusual move, Tennessee native Trevor Bayne will lead the fans in reciting the Pledge of Allegiance before climbing into his car.

Driver introductions: Bristol has a special tradition driver introductions. Each driver comes out to a song of their choosing (you can see the partial list of songs here). Unfortunately, only bits of this will be shown on TV. You can, however, see it later on YouTube.

Race distance: The Bristol race is not 500 miles, but rather 500 laps around the half-mile oval. The total distance of the race is actually 266.5 miles.

Starting lineup for the Bristol race today:


  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Regan Smith
  4. Paul Menard
  5. David Ragan
  6. Jimmie Johnson
  7. Jeff Gordon
  8. Martin Truex Jr.
  9. Mark Martin
  10. Kasey Kahne
  11. Matt Kenseth
  12. Kyle Busch
  13. Tony Stewart
  14. Marcos Ambrose
  15. Kevin Harvick
  16. Bobby Labonte
  17. Jeff Burton
  18. Joey Logano
  19. Trevor Bayne
  20. Kurt Busch
  21. Ryan Newman
  22. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  23. Brad Keselowski
  24. Jamie McMurray
  25. Denny Hamlin
  26. David Reutimann
  27. Clint Bowyer
  28. AJ Allmendinger
  29. David Gilliland
  30. Brian Vickers
  31. Bill Elliott
  32. Landon Cassill
  33. Robby Gordon
  34. Joe Nemechek
  35. Travis Kvapil
  36. Juan Pablo Montoya
  37. Dave Blaney
  38. JJ Yeley
  39. Michael McDowell
  40. Dennis Setzer
  41. Tony Raines
  42. Andy Lally
  43. Casey Mears
Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.