NASCAR At Fontana: Start Time, Starting Lineup, TV Listings And More

It's NASCAR race day at Fontana, and we've got the actual race start time, the starting lineup and some other facts about the Auto Club Speedway race for you below.

Race name/distance: Today's race at Fontana is the "Auto Club 400" – you'll note it's no longer the Auto Club "500." Speedway officials had a choice to make after NASCAR took away the track's fall race date this year: Should Auto Club Speedway have its race be the traditional length of 500 miles in the spring, or use the 400-mile distance that produced much better racing in October? They chose 400.

Start time: The command to start engines will be given by movie star Christian Slater at 3:07 p.m. Eastern time. The actual start time of the race is scheduled for 3:16 p.m. EDT. Boxing legend Sugar Ray Leonard will wave the green flag. So if you want to skip all the pre-race stuff and just tune in for the race, turn on your TV at 3:16.

TV and radio: As for all of the races through May, FOX is televising the race. The radio broadcast can be found on your local Motor Racing Network (MRN) affiliate. Click here to see a list of MRN stations where you can listen.

National anthem: 1980s/90s singer Richard Marx is doing the honors, continuing somewhat of a retro theme for the speedway. On Saturday, 1980s movie star Molly Ringwald was the honorary starter.

Last time: Jimmie Johnson caught a late break to win last year's Fontana spring race, prompting Kevin Harvick's infamous "golden horseshoe" comment. Tony Stewart won the most recent race at the track, which came last October. 

Starting lineup for the Fontana race today:

  1. Juan Pablo Montoya
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Joey Logano
  4. Regan Smith
  5. Tony Stewart
  6. David Ragan
  7. Jeff Burton
  8. Kyle Busch
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Mark Martin
  11. Matt Kenseth
  12. Jamie McMurray
  13. Marcos Ambrose
  14. David Reutimann
  15. Paul Menard
  16. Jimmie Johnson
  17. Clint Bowyer
  18. Carl Edwards
  19. Brian Vickers
  20. AJ Allmendinger
  21. Brad Keselowski
  22. Kasey Kahne
  23. Kurt Busch
  24. Kevin Harvick
  25. Martin Truex Jr.
  26. Casey Mears
  27. Trevor Bayne
  28. Landon Cassill
  29. Jeff Gordon
  30. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  31. Greg Biffle
  32. Dave Blaney
  33. Bobby Labonte
  34. Michael McDowell
  35. Robby Gordon
  36. Travis Kvapil
  37. David Gilliland
  38. Andy Lally
  39. Ken Schrader
  40. Joe Nemechek
  41. Todd Bodine
  42. Tony Raines
  43. JJ Yeley

Latest News

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.


You must be a member of to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.